We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice rooms nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrison Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garrison Hotel to your Saves list
Garrison Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hillsborough Barracks | Penistone Road, Sheffield S6 2BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Edwinstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really nice rooms nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

very helpful staff!
motel style rooms so your door goes to the outside not a corridor
food really nice and reasonably priced!
plenty of pillows and towels
telephone so you can ring reception
all info on desk in a folder for you to look at very helpful!
vending machine across from reception so if you wanted a snack late on or early on then its brilliant!
also had my wedding night here and the night before the wedding cant fault any of it they bent over backwards or me!

Room Tip: fab place to stay all year round
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
37
64
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel to set up the entertainment for an evenings wedding party,so we saw the hotel in action before anyone arrived,the hotel is spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated,the staff were extremely helpfull as we had loads of equipment to bring in,after we had finished we sat in the public bar and had a drink,it was a very relaxed atmosphere,and reasonably priced for a hotel. The evenings food was very good,varied and hot,I would recommend the garrison as a good place to hold a celebration.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as the hotel seams very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A family member had a birthday function in the Jail house function room! Lovely room, good var facilities, bit pricey but then, hotels are! Staff very friendly and efficient! DJ I believe was Garrisons own, played good selection but music didn't 'flow', would get everyone dancing then change pace and style of music after a couple of dance tracks, mood lost! Buffet extremely average despite price! Nothing to write home about! Food and music most important at a function, so despite location and fab room, wouldn't probably, personally, use them again for a family function.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just needed a cheap stopover on a long trip, breakfast would be a bonus. The Garrison seemed to fit the bill and so was booked.

Brilliant!

Arrival was dead easy and out room, which was very spacious and clean was through a beautifully be-planted courtyard. On a summer's evening it was glorious.

The attached pub was fine - food OK, no pulled beer.

Breakfast was basic but again fine.

As a budget stopover it ticked all the boxes. Much more characterful than the otherwise good Meadowhall Teavelodge and breakfast to boot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely conversion of a historic building, The nice rooms are set around a beautiful courtyard. the pub is the old guardhouse and has good beer and wine with good value food. The customer service was great in the hotel and the pub. the free Wifi was very useful. The only real criticism is that the towels are small.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Used by the business to accommodate business clients & associates because of its location. Decided to give it a try so we'd know what it was like. Really nice rooms, Food more than edible - posh pub grub in a restaurant setting. In a good location for access to the City itself and with free car parking. Staff really friendly and can't do enough for you. Lovely outdoor seating area. Biz associates have always been complimentary about it and now we know why. The only let down was the coffee, or to be exact the licquor coffee - Tasted like milky hot water - but then we didn't bother to complain and I'm sure they'd have rectified if we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Garrison Hotel, staff welcoming and enjoyed the surroundings. Our meal on our first night in the restaurant was excellent, although the waitress made hard work of the bill when we wanted to divide into four, which then caused problems when we checked out,
The rooms were good, and we had a perfect nights sleep.
Unfortunately the breakfast let the hotel down,, quite chaotic, with only one waitress ( as the Hotel was full she was a little rushed off her feet and one other lady just seemed to be walking around with a cloth in her hand!) The toaster either didn't toast the bread or burnt it, the English breakfast consisted of a cheap sloppy sausage and cheap beans, so wasn't pleasant , but bacon and eggs on the second morning was better. would have liked some Yogurt. My husband thought as we were "up north" he name have got black pudding for breakfast too
Just a few small changes would have given this Hotel an excellent rating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garrison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Hotel

Address: Hillsborough Barracks | Penistone Road, Sheffield S6 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garrison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garrison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrison Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrison Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.