We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic pub but food and service nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Shoulder of Mutton
19 Top Road | Worrall, Sheffield, England
0114-286-4733
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice historic pub but food and service nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited this pub on a warm, pleasant Sunday for a traditional roast. The pub is a very pleasant place for a fews drinks, but as noted by a couple of previous reviewers, I agree that the food and service are a bit disappointing. There was a general lack of attention to detail and the service lacked any 'wow' factor, which was a bit of a shame as the staff were pleasant and the vegetables tasted like they were cooked from fresh, for instance.

The owner told us when we phoned, that the place would be busy but by 1.30, there were perhaps only 10 or so diners besides us. Everyone was confused about whether it was possible to order from the good selection on the blackboards or the small card menu on the tables (only the latter was available, the bar staff giving the wrong information).

I ordered the Sunday roast - beef, yorkshire pudding, roast and mashed potatoes, swede and mange tout. The roast potatoes were rather soggy and pale and the vegetables rather lukewarm with melted butter or margarine over them. The food was rather bland with no attempt at sauces, gravy or seasonings. The lemon torte was somewhat better but was served with what tasted like a sorbet, when the waitress clearly mentioned ice cream.

I will try to revisit the pub for a weekday or Saturday meal to give them a second chance as I do find the place relaxing and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a great village pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is my local and is fantastic in all respects. Welcoming staff. Great menu with lots of choice. Super service with staff always trying to do the best for you. Food always spot on. Lucky man as I can walk there and back.
I love it so give it a go. Pie night on Monday for a fiver. Two for the price of one Tuesday and Wednesday. Smashing quiz on Thursday. Fish night Friday is GREAT value.
Fantastic village pub that comes highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my day out at the shoulder of mutton on bank holiday family fun day great live music, staff so friendly and courteous, such a great atmosphere will deffinitley be back for a meal in the near future

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took the in laws here for dinner last Friday. We all enjoyed it. Nice food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. We were suprised there isn't a wine list but the wine was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have been a few times to this pub and find it a bit inconsistent. I had a good meal first time (bangers and mash) my wife did not (fish and chips). Went recently and ordered a club sandwich, this came as chicken and bacon lettuce and mayo on two peices of plain white bread. I would have thought any chef would know the bread should be toasted in a club sandwich. Also had occasions where salads had no dressing, it is these details where attention is not paid that lets this place down, because it is not cheap either. The chips are good, but everyone says that and you cannot build a reputation as a good restaurant on chips alone, come on Shoulder buck your ideas up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoulder of Mutton also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoulder of Mutton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.