We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spoon

Spoon
20 Abbey Lane, Sheffield S8 0BL, England
+44 114 274 0014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Bakeries in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Coffee Shop, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: 2012 Eat Sheffield Winner and 2013 & 2014 Finalist. Licensed family cafe bistro serving breakfast, lunch, tea/coffee, homemade cakes and evening meals. Everything homemade on the premises, down to the ketchup, marmalade and dressings, so can be adapted to suit most dietary requirements or individual tastes. Gluten free bread and cakes available daily, with the majority of the breakfast, lunch and evening menus adaptable to gluten free options.
2 reviews
“Fab!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went today for a quick birthday lunch with a friend. The place was extremely busy and buzzing with a lovely, family atmosphere. Despite the busyness we had fantastic service and our food was lovely, fresh and we didn't have too long to wait!! It was also fantastic value!! I would highly recommend this gem of a place and can't wait to visit again to sample the breakfast menu! Well deserved 5 out of 5!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    11
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent,England
1 review
“Scrumptous food, excellent service - absolutely buzzing. Thouroughly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stumbled across this little gem on a trip to Sheffield to see a rock concert. Menu is great with lots of choice and very filling. I had the Chicken & Blue cheese crumble and my wife had the Mushroom Stroganoff, if it wasn't such a faux pax to lick the plates clean I think we would have! Sticky Toffee pudding was to die for, and the White Chocolate risotto Creme Brule was very close second!! All in all a great meal and excellent value for money.

We were going to return the next morning for Breakfast but we were still too full from the night before!

It definately rocked our world and will be on our list of placed to return to on our next trip to Sheffield without a doubt. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; traditional food with a modern twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

All four of us had landed back from holidays and with nothing to eat in the house, decided to go to the local cafe for a quick lunch. Staff were very friendly and the food brilliant. I couldn't decide what to have so had a mixture of two meals - yorkshire rarebit with local farm produced sausages! Two others in the party had barbecued pulled pork baguettes and the fourth person a goat's cheese salad. All of the food was really well prepared, tasty and obviously of good quality. With drinks the bill came to just over £40. Fantastic value. We would like to visit again in the evening when the 'cafe' becomes a bistro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT a "Greasy Spoon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Called in here on " the spur of the moment" for breakfast and so glad we did. I had the Large English Breakfast and my partner opted for the Smoked Haddock and Poached Egg. It was obvious that everything was freshly cooked and was delivered piping hot. There was not a hint of grease, which could have been expected, on my " Large English " plateful. You should only order this if you have a very good appetite. The piece of fish on my partner's meal was quite substantial and the poached egg was cooked to perfection.
The proprietor and chef, Jules, was extremely helpful and was quite willing to discuss his menu's, his past experience in the Hospitality Industry is obvious.
Thoroughly enjoyed our meals and we are looking forward to returning and trying the Evening Menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, brilliant service, all round good night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Came here for a family meal and couldn't pick from the menu as I wanted it all! Service was friendly and was made to feel really welcome.

Overall I think his one of the best places in Sheffield to eat, with great food, great service, and good prices.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spoon also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.