We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old fashioned cake shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
11 Barkers Pool, Sheffield S1 2HB, England
+44 114 275 6987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Bakeries in Sheffield
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Belgian, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert
london
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Lovely old fashioned cake shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Walked by and was tempted in by the georgus looking cakes especially the cheese cakes in the window. As it was lunch time the place was just full and I got the last table. Service was quick and very friendly despite the rush hour. Coffee was good, but the cheese cake was delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    25
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Massively overrated, poor value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Service slow, disinterested and poor quality. Overpriced cakes, a cup of tea costa an arm and a leg and it`s a corporate chain too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffied
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently Visited Patisserie Valerie in Sheffield, and I have to say what a wonderful experience I had. The cakes are absolutely fabulous and the staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good cakes but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent choice of cakes and drinks, but all other food is very over priced.
Two cakes, two toasted sandwiches and two drinks cost £32, while the cakes were beautiful the other food was not worth the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Could be better,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place has the wow factor. The shop window is full of their delicious pastries and buns and man are they good looking. We have had bought cake from here to take home before and the portions are really good sizes, but are they as exceptional as they look? They are nice, but not 'to die for' good. We have eaten in here once and although the inside was nice, as was the staff, wee had sandwiches and they were just a bit bland and rather expensive really. I think this is nice for a coffee and cake as a quick revive from your shopping ,but I wouldnt have lunch here again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Valerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.