We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poor value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside

The Riverside
1 Mowbray Street, Sheffield S3 8EN, England
0114 272 4640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #308 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Riverside is the liveliest venue in the heart of Sheffield's real ale circuit in Kelham Island and features a hugely popular beer garden located alongside the River Don. All profits go to supporting the arts and creative projects as unique to Sheffield, it is owned by an arts charity, Point Blank. Plans are in progress to develop the site to include a new multi-purpose arts centre, meantime you can enjoy a diverse range of live art and entertainment taking place in the upstairs shoebox studio and lounge downstairs. Under 18s are welcome until 9pm.
Sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have to say love the Riverside, great atmosphere, but the food is disappointing I went 2 weeks ago to give it another go as few months ago I wasn't impressed. The food isn't good value and on both occasions the meals were served on cold plates. Prices compared to The Devonshire Cat which is great value and for a pound more you could have a gourmet burger in the Brooklyn Bar which is nearby, the pub really needs to lower their prices

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What happened?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had lunch at the Riverside a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it-varied menu well cooked, daily specials etc. Went there yesterday evening and very disappointed. Menu now consists of a variety of burgers, panini's and fish and chips. I had the latter. Poor! Grey fish, soggy batter and luke-warm soggy fries together with a tiny portion of mushy peas and sad salad. My wife's burger wasn't much better and again limp fries.
The place could be so much better-great location next to the river with outside terrace, great selection of beers, good music and eclectic crowd. Tries to create a sort of "shabby-chic" but this has gone too far-the place is simply scruffy with furniture that belongs on a bonfire. Went to a place in Copenhagen a few years ago which pulled off the effect just right-informal, non-stuffy but still a pleasant place to be. We both said then it's a pity there's nowhere like this in Sheffield-there could be if someone who could be bothered took over this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Very Poor selection of food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well me and my partner decided to take his parents to the Riverside as in the past it had done very good food with affordable wine and good selection of beers.
We looked at the menu and what a disppointment we should have gone to mcdonalds, as the only choice was burgers salads sandwiches and a couple of other bits.
3 of us ordered burgers and 1 ordered fish and chips, the food was fairly nice but i have had better. On the plus this pub has a good selection of beers and a good selection of wines at affordable prices.
I will go again but just to drink not to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a disappointment !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I rang early Friday morning to book a table for Sunday lunch. I was met by an answerphone. Late on Saturday afternoon a gentleman phoned me back and took my booking. I looked on the website to check the menu, which was quite extensive and no indication of a reduced menu for Sunday lunch. We arrived on Sunday to find the pub virtually empty and told the lady behind the bar that we had booked a table. Her answer was "nobody's told me". She advised us to sit where we wanted apart from the tables that were reserved (wouldn't one of those tables be ours). We ordered our drinks and sat down to peruse the menu. We were confronted with a very reduced Sunday menu, which consisted of Sunday Roasts and Burgers. We went to the bar to order our food and were told that they were not doing burgers that day, leaving only Sunday roasts. We declined. Before leaving I went to the Gents toliet upstairs. The bottom half of the door was kicked in, and once inside wall tiles were missing in a least two places, not good. The pint of beer was great, but everything else was a huge disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch and quality beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely little pub just a short way from the city centre which to be fair, is distinctly lacking in good places to eat. The food menu is great and includes lovely burgers and things like soup and sanwiches. Most of the food is homemade as well and very tasty. The beers on tap are great and its all fairly priced. There is a nice outside seating area as well to sit and watch the world go by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.