We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester

Harvester
The Oasis | Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Sheffield S9 1EP, England
01142 568248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #658 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Harvester Meadowhall in Sheffield food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Sheffield, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Rotherham, Shiregreen and Brinsworth, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second visit, once again its in such a convienient place opposie Sheffield Arena the place was packed we were tolda 40 minute wait we only waited 20 before getting a table, the staff were really efficient clearing tables as quickly as possible, The salad bar was being topped up constantly, we had a voucher for the starter so that was free we opted for the prawns they were ok, the chicken was a little dry but ok, the waitress was lovely for the three of us the bill was just over £30 so for what we got it was cheap we left a well deserved tip as they were rushed off there feet, would we return yes its in the right place for the Arena

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at harvester Sheffield. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    34
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Young friendly staff real assett to place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited harvesters as part of a shopping trip after looking at the other more expensive options on offer, knew we were going cheap and cheerful. Greeted by a young friendly chap had to wait alittle while as obviously was a busy time lunch in meadowhall!!!...small cosy place, lots of crying babies arrghhh....waiter was another young chap, just started, very thorough quite chatty and friendly tried very hard, think he just lacks abit of proper training from the manager as he did mention hed been told off for calling someone "mate" earlier in the morning.., and was asking our opinion, both of us opted for barbecue chicken, free salad was a bonus and refill soft drinks main course came after a littlw wait bit disappointing chicken abit dry, and the sauce was salty, the peas were dry not as advertised lol....but hey was an ok experience strong believer in you get what you pay for ..... 20 quid not bad ...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvester Sheffield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Does not live up to their usual standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We all know what Harvester has to offer, but this place has every last inch covered in tables and chairs. They tried putting us on a table for 2 when there was four of us.

they are trying a new ipad ordering service, which clearly they all need training with and should not try out when busy during the run up to Christmas.

Food average - a real disappointment.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Meadowhall. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“slow and grumpy staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After waiting to be seated it took a while to be served the staff jist didnt seem to know what they were doin. They were serving customers who had come in before us. Customers were walking out as it was taking to long to be seated. The food was average. I have had better. Had a burger . A couple of tables next us were dirty when we sat down and still dirty when we left.We wont be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are sorry that your recent visit to Harvester Sheffield was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve, and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Shambolic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We ate here on 14/11/13 during a shopping trip to Meadowhall. The £9.99 offer seemed very reasonable and although their was a small queue for a table it seemed worth it. It wasn't.
Once seated we waited more than half an hour for somebody to take our order and during this time we were incorrectly brought another tables drinks and another tables meals. When our order was finally taken we helped ourselves to the unlimited salad which admittedly was lovely. But again we waited and waited and waited for our meals to arrive and as had happened to us, our drinks were served to the group at the next table. After we had eaten we waited and waited and waited and eventually had to get up and ask a member of staff for our desserts. After another 15mins the desserts still hadn't arrived and again we had to ask for our them. It was a similar situation for the bill and even trying to pay was a lengthy mess on.
The young staff were running around like headless chickens. I don't doubt they were working hard and you could see they were trying their best but it really was absolute chaos. We don't eat out very often and the shambolic service ruined what should have been a nice meal out.
Other diners were also clearly not happy and were openly discussing this between tables

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Sheffield. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.