We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cineworld Cinemas

Cineworld Cinemas
Valley Centertainment | Broughton Lane, Sheffield S9 2EP, England
0871 200 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 123 attractions in Sheffield
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although clean and the screens themselves are quite good, I find the price quite out of hand. For this reason we only visit before 12pm to get the early bird tickets, which to be honest are almost as expensive as the normal tickets. Some of the staff are some times quit rude as well. I usually wait until things come out on DVD instead of a trip out. We have also had quite a few instances of the more starting without sound or picture it taking 20-30mins before it getting sorted out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    38
    24
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great- If you're an unlimited member”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

So I have seen some awful reviews on here and some points I agree on. For example the price of food and tickets, BUT these expenses are going up in every cinema chain and buying food from the cinema is your choice. A lot of people probably take their own snacks even though you are not, strictly supposed to.

As a Cineworld Unlimited member this cinema is a great, as a member I receive 25% of all food and drink, which is a great saving and also a reduction off the price of special tickets for concerts, sport, etc. The cinema is in a great location with a bowling alley, laser quest, mini golf, restaurants and an arena within minutes of each other.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“rip off!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

every time we seem to go to that cinema complex, the price seems to have increased. and if you can't park in the carpark, which is quite often, be warned that parking in the nearby retail park can result in a parking fine.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great cinema, spacious seating which is a big plus especially when sat for couple of hours also you can choose your own seat unlike certain other cinema chains. Good facilities for eating and drinking only negative tickets more expensive than other cinemas but I guess you get better quality seating so that of helps still think tickets could be slightly cheaper otherwise overall good cinema experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great facilities, good place to indulge yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I like the Cineworld in Sheffield. It is a large building with the usual array of food and drink opportunities both inside and outside. The cinema also has an IMAX screen. Watching movies is a joy as even I, larger than many, find the seats comfortable.

There is a Starbucks that is part of the cinema but does not accept Starbucks Cards. Be warned. The other area to consider is that of parking. Leave yourself plenty of time to park. The centre on which it sits is very popular with many restaurants and leisure outlets so parking can take a little time in bust periods.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cineworld Cinemas also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cineworld Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cineworld Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cineworld Cinemas to your Saves list