We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off Parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Sheffield M1

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Sheffield M1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Sheffield M1
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodall Services | M1 Motorway, Junction 30/31, Sheffield S26 7XR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #25 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip Off Parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staff were friendly, room was clean but very basic and in need of a refresh. The most concerning aspect of this trip is that we have been receiving threatening letters from a parking company saying that we owe them a parking fine for parking there. Our booking confirmed free parking but when we called the hotel they were not very helpful. Don't stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Sheffield M1, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your valued observation regarding parking arrangements at the hotel . Days Inn Woodall offers free complimentary parking . The site operates an ANPR system upon which guests are required to input their registration details upon arrival inorder to obtain free parking and avoid any further correspondence being issued . Please accept our apologies that you received correspondence from the parking company upon which will be rectified by the hotel. I have also noted your comments regarding our staff and bedroom cleanliness upon which I will pass your comments on . I hope we get the oppertunity to welcome you back to Days Inn Sheffiled in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
24
28
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I actually booked this hotel not realising the location and when I realised where it was I had some trepidation. I have to say this was misplaced and I was very pleasantly surprised. I haven't stayed in a Days Inn property before so I was open minded as to what to expect.

It was easy enough to find within the Woodall motorway services area. The location being on the Southside of the M1 between Junctions 31 & 30 is actually not as limiting as you would assume. Obviously, you need to be happy to drive on the motorway but just a mile south is Junction 30 where you can use the A6135 to get in to Sheffield with comparative ease without having to head back down the motorway. Chesterfield is very close by as well, linked by the main A619.

The 24 hour reception was very helpful on arrival explaining the facilities and check in / out procedures. It also had a mini shop and amazingly was great value, 50P or more cheaper on a bottle of water than the WH Smiths in the service station! Breakfast is offered as an extra which complements the array or options at the service station (McDonalds, KFC, Burger King as well as the service station run cafe / restaurant). Parking is free, you just need to remember to log your registration number at reception.

The room was on the first floor and was clean. One word of warning, their is no lift so if you don't like or can't access even one flight of stairs, make sure you are on the ground floor. The room itself was bigger than I expected. It featured a double bed with a bathroom that had a bath / shower.

The decoration reminded me of US hotels I have stayed in, being very beige but that was to be expected from an American chain of hotels and it is in no way a criticism. Noise was something I wonderd about being on the motorway, however, even thought I had a motorway facing room the noise was very minimal due to good windows and the hotel being well set back off the actual carridgeway.

I booked through eBookers and the deal I got was really excellent considering what I paid for the experience I had. I understand the limitations in terms of location and I have mentioned them above but they are not as bad as you would think, plus my initial concerns regarding motorway noise was not an issue in the end. I have no reservations based on my experience of recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We came here at a spur of the moment decision, I booked through laterooms, £25 per night, bargain! I rang up Days Inn to confirm that they had received my booking just to be on the safe side. The receptionist who answered was very pleasant and helpful.

Upon arrival check in was quick and again helpful. The lady with the long red hair (sorry, I didn't get her name) offered us breakfast, we accepted, she recommended the continental, which I am absolutely pleased with because it was yummy!! Cereal with fresh milk, hot croissant with butter and jam, apple, yoghurt and a fresh (I mean fresh) orange juice. Filled us up till tea time! My partner asked for a different apple as the one of them we was given was a little bad but it was no bother for them. Saved us walking over the the service station in the awful rain, this is if you want a hot cooked breakfast. I recommend the continental to be honest.

The room was nice, spacious, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and sofa. Bathroom was a good size. The bathroom did have mould on the ceiling but again we weren't put off, hard to get rid of is mould (I have worked as a housekeeper for a while) I have seen worse anyways. The shower was broken, the rubber attachment came off but was easily fixed by pushing it back round, it squirts water at you if it isn't on.

The staff at this hotel are brilliant, friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed to much for them. We asked for a few things during our stay. Fresh towels, loo roll etc...we did have the do not disturb sign on although the housekeepers did ask if we wanted anything when they took our breakfast tray away and swapped the apple.

We did have problems with the WIFI which was disappointing although the staff did everything they could do to help us. We do think there is a problem with BT as when we did checks, it seemed to be coming from their end. That is what my laptop said anyway. Again, no both as we had a fantastic stay and I can say we will return.

Free newspapers are a bonus too.

Pleased with this hotel, Days Inn are the hotel to go too! Thank you to all the staff here for making our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Family rooms (even thought there was only two of us) are spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The visit didn't start too well as we arrived during a powercut to the whole site but the staff were really nice and friendly. They tried to sort out the problem but something like that was completely out of their control but they kept a smile on their face the whole time! Well we think they did anyway!

Once the lights were back on we were checked in and we had the Double w/sofabed and it was clean & tidy on arrival. Noise of the motorway was not very noticeable, i think the more you listen for a noise the more you hear it.

Wifi wasn't very strong but as it was free it did what we needed at the time and so it wasn't a problem.

Housekeeping staff were friendly and the room was tidied while we were out at our event.

The second night the fire alarm randomly went off for a few seconds which at the time seemed very much like a dream which we all questioned in the morning!

Checkout was 11am which was ideal as we had a morning run to squeeze in before checkout, even then they were not forcing us out the door!

We had breakfast on both occasions in the services but that was seperate to the hotel booking, over priced but did the job.

I've booked this hotel again as we're back competing in January. Clean tidy rooms and nice staff but if you want luxury extras then probably not the place to be looking!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I honestly have to say that we recieved a five star welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the receptionist. They helped me to set up my wifi, because I am not used to the ipad etc.
Room clean and tidy and quiet.
This is the best welcome we have ever recieved, and the staff should all be comended on their manner.
Thank you and we will be back

Room Tip: Aask for one off the motorway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
king's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a one night stay that we would not repeat. Although it was cheap the condition of the bathroom fell short of our expectations, to put it mildly. There was black mould on the tile grout all around the bath, up to the ceiling and even on the ceiling.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
We accepted the breakfast offer, but were astounded to find out the following morning that we had a hike across the petrol filling station forecourt to get to the motorway services "Eat In". The staff were far from obliging and totally indifferent and the quality of the food was disgusting. Bacon that was dried out, having been kept warm for ages, undercooked eggs and all served on an ice cold plate that by the time you reached your table had chilled the food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Sheffield M1, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding Days Inn Woodall .

Rest assured that your valued comments will be passed onto the relevant teams inorder that we can improve the service and product offering at Woodall . You will be pleased to hear that we have recently installed an upgrade programme of works inorder to improve our bedroom and bathroom stock . I will personally look at your room used during your stay to ensure that this gets included in the first phase . I was also pleased to hear that you found our staff to be 'friendly and helpful' at the hotel upon which I will make sure that your comments are given to our team . With regards to your comments regarding on main site I will make sure that I discuss these with our Site Director.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on 7th October 2012 and we were pleased with it. Value for money
needed a bed for the night and this was just fine, everything needed was on hand and no issues with cleanliness..nothing posh about it but perfectly adequate for our needs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Sheffield M1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sheffield M1

Address: Woodall Services | M1 Motorway, Junction 30/31, Sheffield S26 7XR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sheffield M1 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between junctions 30/31 on the M1 motorway, this hotel is 20 minutes’ drive from the Sheffield city centre. It has free Wi-Fi, free parking, free newspapers and a 24-hour reception. Rooms at Days Inn Hotel Sheffield South provide en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs with freeview, Hypnos beds and tea and coffee-making facilities. Is part of the Welcome Break service area where there are places to eat, a shop, arcade, petrol station and cash machines. Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Motor Point Arena, Don Valley Stadium, and Sheffield University are only 15 minutes' drive from the hotel. Rother Valley Country Park is also nearby, only 7 miles from the hotel. Facilities available on the nearby service area include Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC, Burger King & WH Smith. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Sheffield M1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sheffield
Sheffield Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Sheffield M1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.