We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Indian

Downtown Indian
95-101 West Street, Sheffield, England
0114 2725747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 1,042 restaurants in Sheffield
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

my son recommended this restaurant so we decided to give it a try, I can say we were not disappointed. very good service and the food was brilliant, for a town centre Indian the price was also reasonable, we will defiantly be revisiting this restaurant in the coming weeks and will take our friends with us

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    24
    12
    6
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

All I can say is wow

We are in Sheffield on a romantic weekend with new girlfriend and we dropped on this place on spur of moment and I can honestly not understand the bad comments on here we had starters stunning if not a little hot for my likein

Girlfriend had chicken and black pepper with salad
Mains were out off this world and the staff were so helpful Evan asking chef to tony tone the pepper down a bit all in all a fantastic meal all round please give this place a try

Tony and jo

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and excellent authentic indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Last sunday i came with my family and friends, the restaurant was busy and atmosphere was very nice, i was unsure to what to choose from the menu so i asked the staff for some help, i got very good help from staff and my meal was very delicious and it was presented well, my family and friends was very happy with the service and food. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves indian food, id definitely visit the restaurant again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Been into hospitality industry from last 16 yrears ,need to tell that the food served here is the real authentic indian food,cheers to the chef and his team, will definately visit again for your grat food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sheer delight in Sheffield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

In Sheffield for the weekend and ended up on West Street looking for a place for dinner and stumbled on this restaurant. From the outside it looks like any other Indian restaurant. The menu is compact but has some very interesting dishes and well worth a try. The jeera rice is a must to try and this will be something that is requested every meal from now on, as we'd never heard of this before. The quality of the ingredients is exceptional and fresh. The food is very tasty, well prepared and wonderfully presented. The service is very friendly and staff are attentive to ensure that they deliver a first class service. The cost was very reasonable. This is definitely a place to visit if you enjoy fine Indian cuisine that is special. The food experience is out of this world.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Indian also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Downtown Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.