We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheffield Metropolitan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheffield Metropolitan to your Saves list
Sheffield Metropolitan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight late May 2013, booked as a last-minute stay. Would say is one of the best hotels have stayed in in a long time. Arrived to a warm and friendly greeting on reception, check in was swift and pleasant. There is no on site parking, instead the hotel has a special deal with a multistorey close by. There is a set down point outside the hotel and we were encouraged to ensure we were checked in and settled in our room with our stuff before moving the car. Reception staff also provided helpful directions to car park.

We were allocated a large end room on 7th floor which was clean and comfortable. Cannot fault the standard of the room - everything was really good, bed was comfortable with lovely duvet and plenty of pillows. Good bathroom with bath and shower.

Breakfast was not included in our rate but we took up the offer of £10.95 per person for unlimited breakfast. As it was a weekend, breakfast room was busy but in spite of the food and service was of very good quality. The guy running the Breakfast Room was truly at the top of his game - polite, friendly and efficient in spite of being rushed off his feet. There is a good selection of hot and cold breakfast foods, tea and coffee, juices etc. Regular hotel stuff but done well.

All in all, a very good hotel. What makes this hotel however is the people. In addition to the lovely receptionist and the breakfast guy, the night receptionist was very helpful in helping me locate the nearby 24 hour tesco (forgotten contact lens solution). In so many things in life, it is the people that make or break a situation. And here they make it. So well done everyone! All round great job!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    53
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
26
32
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, as a couple, for a weekend break. We were sceptical about the hotel after reading recent reviews and seeing travellers photos, however we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! Yes, the old, boarded up petrol station is very unsightly however, when entering the hotel itself it has a warm feel and the staff on reception were fantastic. Our check-in was smooth and efficient and both receptionists were helpful in providing parking information.

We loved our room (double), it was a big room with plenty of space, it was spotlessly clean and had all of the amenities you could need! The only issue we found was the heat - our room was so hot all of the time! However, we found that keeping the bathroom door closed helped a lot to reduce the heat (we didnt know if/how the towel radiator switched off).

We had breakfast each morning of our stay which we really enjoyed, as the hotel was quiet the restaurant done the breakfasts made to order, instead of the usual buffet style so our food was hot and fresh which was great, there was also a constant supply of tea, coffee and juice. We also had sandwiches from the hotel restaurant which were both great.

The only thing that we didn't like about our stay at the hotel was when we arrived back after a night out on the Sunday was the two male reception staff, who did not smile, or greet us, and didn't even acknowledge us when we spoke to them - a shame as the rest of the staff were great!

We would especially like to comment on the service received from the bar manager, who was super friendly and went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay, offering loads of advice on where to go and what to do. He was always very chatty and approachable and is a credit to the hotel :-)

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Sheffield Metropolitan, we would recommend the hotel and we would stay again! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your comments to our restaurant team.
I am extremely disappointed that you didnt receive the same warm welcome from the nights team and will be following this up, I can assure you this is not the standard we provide.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am quite used to the insincere 'have a nice day' style corporate service delivery so it's always a delight when I experience a genuine attempt to make me feel welcome and looked after. I stayed last Friday with my brother Richard. The receptionist gave us good directions on the phone to find the hotel, was genuinely friendly when we arrived and gave us a great tip to get the tram out to the Motorpoint Arena. The receptionist on duty in the morning was equally friendly and helpful. In the hotel chain world where all rooms look the same great staff can really make a difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay ay the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service
We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for one night, went to a gig, couple, twin room only.
Upon arrival the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, check in was easy and fast. Rooms were spotless and very convenient for stay. Hot chocolate amongst other hot drink sachets and bathroom toiletries were pleasant extras to our stay. It was busy in Sheffield on the night of our stay as there were multiple events on at the same night so this bumped the price up, however, I was able to find a discounted price online through another website for this hotel and the hotel were more than happy to advise me to take this offer. Originally I was looking for a double room only, but unfortunately for our date these rooms had sold out. I contacted the hotel asking for advice and discovered that the twin rooms were basically a double with two single beds pushed together. Check in was easy and with a voucher from the hotel check in, parking was discounted at the multi-storey car park across the road in perfect walking distance. On the way out to our gig the hotel called a taxi for us that was incredibly cheap, and the location of the hotel was so close to the venue that we enjoyed a nice walk back to the hotel. Didn't stay for breakfast as we had an early start the next morning and were happy to get on the road home, though the menu looked great. Would recommend and will be likely to stay again :) thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel in the right location for your concert

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rooms look lovely in the pictures but the are dark wooden furniture that was left over from the 70s. All furniture is attached to the walls (just in case) and the room is very basic. The corridors are painted orange and navy blue and the outside has an old run down boarded up petrol station attached to the front. However it's clean, the staff are extra friendly and the breakfast was good. You also have to pay for wifi. Would be good if much cheaper but their are hotels in Sheffield at the same price and much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

I have noted your comments regarding the decor and the petrol station, we do have development plans in the pipe line for the forecourt which will significantly improve this external area.

I would be happy to discuss any of your points at your convenience and can be contacted on 0114 2204000

Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Regular hotel visitors to Sheffield due to hospital visits with baby daughter.
We stayed overnight in this hotel for the first time and were impressed with size of the room, its cleanliness and the fact they remembered (many dont) the travel cot. For the first ever time in all the hotels we have stayed at staff provided a dedicated nappy bin and extra towels for the baby.

Staff were all very helpful, breakfast was cooked to perfection, couldnt fault it, however to be very picky needs sausages to be Cumberland ie stronger flavour same with beans.

Member of staff in restaurant was very helpful and courteous to our speciel requests.

All in all not the most modern hotel but if you want a clean spacious room with good food and staff at a very reasonable rate then this hotel ticks many if not all the boxes.

We look forward to booking again in 3 months time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit, I will mention your preference for cumberland sausage to our chef

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. Upon arrival check in simple and pleasant. I was a little concerned from the start as the hotel looks half deralict from the front.
The rooms are large but hugely in need of modernisation. Not the cleanest bathroom in the world. Floors could have done with a good clean and window locks broke so the window didnt shut tight.
Ordered room service first night. Very overpriced for what you get as it does not appear of good quality.
I was there on business so slightly horrified when awoken at 3 4 and 5am. They had students on the same floor who had been to some function. Not greatly impressed by this.
Breakfast was great with the wonderful service staff who really cant do enough for you.
Not impressed with the meal on the 2nd night either. Chickin ceasar salad dripping grease.

Overall the hotel really needs a good makeover. Very tired and dated. staff helpful and attentive though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

Thank you also for your positive comments regarding the staff, please accept my apologies for your disturbed night due to other guests.

We do try to accommodate group bookings on separate floors so I will be reviewing this with our reception team, I will also go through your comments regarding your evening meal with our chef, our food is freshly prepared to a high standard so this is very disappointing for us.

If you would like to discuss any of the matters further please do not hesitate to call me on 0114 2204000

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheffield Metropolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.