We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheffield Metropolitan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheffield Metropolitan to your Saves list
Sheffield Metropolitan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was great, I had a lovely stay. We made a large group booking and a deposit was taken in case of breakages etc. but we didn't mind this. The hotel is in a great city center location with lovely views. The rooms are comfortable and a good size with lots of amenities. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
28
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friend and I were extremely impressed by the service, value for money and great breakfast! A particualar thankyou and well done to Marie on reception & to John who took our breakfast order on Good Friday. A place we highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

I will pass on your comments to the reception and restaurant teams
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We agree with all the other comments about how great the staff are at the hotel! We were a group of 8 friends booked to stay in a cottage for the weekend in a village just outside Sheffield but due to snow we couldn't reach it so we turned up cold, wet and miserable to the Sheffield Metropolitan hoping to get rooms and the staff were amazing. They booked us into lovely comfortable rooms making sure we were all on the same floor as each other and really went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome. During our stay we ate in the restaurant and the food and service was very good! What had started out as a disastrous weekend because of the snow turned out to be a really enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Firstly, the staff at this hotel are lovely. Where do I start? After not being able to reach a holiday cottage on the outskirts of the city, due to snow, we booked in here. The receptionist was really helpful as we were all a little stressed that our weekend was going to be ruined. The kitchen even cooked our pizzas (which we had planned to have at the cottage) and brought them up to our room. The rooms were clean, spacious and had very good mirrors! It is an ideal central location and you are able to park in the neighbouring hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan.

We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and glad to have played a small part in saving your weekend from the bad weather

I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel were amazing when we were unable to get to our pre-booked holiday cottage because of snow. They got us 4 rooms next to each other when we staggered in out of a blizzard, provided plates, cutlery and ice in our rooms and even cooked us the food we'd brought with us! I cannot fault them in any way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan.

We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and glad to have played a small part in saving your week end from the bad weather

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chafford Hundred
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed one night here at the end of Feb....Plus points were the very friendly and helpful staff, relatively comfy beds and climate control in the rooms...Negatives were value for money, lack of nearby parking, cleanliness(especially bathroom) and it's quite hard to find the hotel...It's decent enough but nothing special and I believe the room rates of £80 per night are 20% more than they should be for this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan and your possitive feedback regarding service and staff.

I will investigate the problems regarding your bathroom and for the carpark we recommend the QPark which is a minutes walk from the hotel so please accept my appologies if this was not communicated clearly.

Once again than you for your valuable feedback

Ian Slater
General Manager
Sheffield Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Quality hotel with great facilities. Swimming pool and spa facilities were very good. Had a 2 night stay in a double room. Room is great size. Breakfast was fantastic. 10min leisurely stroll to sheffield high street. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheffield Metropolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.