We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valentines day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viraaj

Viraaj
743 Chesterfield Road, Sheffield S8 0SL, England
0114 2509066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian, Bangladeshi, Halal
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“valentines day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

exceptional meal and very friendly service and although I got the bill the other half got a very nice rose.
Recommend the fish sharing platter fro a starter and the Bengal Chicken for mains, the king prawn balti was not too bad either.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    51
    18
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tasting food in a smart environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Whether you want a family occasion or a romantic meal, the fantastic food, smart environment, and helpful and courteous staff make Viraaj a great place to visit. Woodseats is lucky to have this restaurant in its midst. Diplu and his colleagues will ensure that you don't leave disappointed !!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Place, Friendly Service & Pleasant Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

There are Indian restaurants and there are 'Indian restaurants', the former serve up the lads macho vindaloo, tindaloo, phall fiery hot brown slush to make the mouth dance and nose water. Restaurants Like Viraaj are the other, they serve tasty flavousome food, yes you can go hot and the menu has the little chilli pepper symbols guiding you to their strength but even the pickle tray is different to most ,tamarind instead of lime pickle, it tastes good too. If you like sweet curries but fed up of Korma then Chicken Sakuti is a good option. The staff are friendly and courteous, they don't harass you into extras and the food does come hot and if ordered, sizzling. We had the fish starter for 2 people served as a main, Chicken Sakuti and Dopiaza, Coconut rice, Pilau rice, garlic nan and peshwari nan. It was Monday night (other diners had the buffett) our guests loved the 'full menu' food and had asked to go there having been there the last time they came to Sheffield. We also have been on a Saturday around 6:00pm, there were families in with younger children, it was quite busy and we assumed it was some family offer that was on, no, when I enquired it was just popular?
All in all, something for everyone where you will not be embarrassed to take people. P.S can we keep it this way!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Yorks
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Polite Service and Lovely Surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Yum! visited Viraaj recently for the second time. My bf had the Lamb Rogan said it was the nicest curry he has ever had. The mango chutney is fresh and different to any that I have had before. The dinner was delicious and I can't wait to go back. The service is really good and the restaurant is modern, clean and cosy. Prices are also good!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Viraaj, splendour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Had a meal on Saturday night and we were nt disappointed,the service you get is excellent all the staff are helpful and very friendly from the moment you walk in.the Viraaj used to be a public house and the conversion to a restaurant by Sufi and his team is first class, very clean and plush inside.Now for the food ,there is an excellent menu and everything cooked to perfection if its not on the menu they will endeavour to cook it for you,nothings too much trouble Overall a superb Indian restaurant that serves first class food .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viraaj also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Viraaj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viraaj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.