We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Dolce Vita
52a Sandygate Road | Crosspool, Sheffield, England
0114 266 9811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This restaurant, tucked away in Crosspool, was such a pleasant surprise.
The cooking is really, really good. The chef is an Italian lady, who came out to check we were enjoying the meal. It felt like having your Italian granny cook a meal for you!
The menu covered all the classic bases, but with a few more unusal items: wild boar stew; and tripe in a rich tomato sauce. I had the latter (try everything once) and found it very good.
The service was attentive without being obtrusive, and we enjoyed the funky retro decor.
They don't take cards and it's BYO, but as there is a mini supermarket and cashpoint only a few doors down, this wasn't a problem. Will definitely return.
August 2013.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Way To Spend A Special Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to the La Dolce Vita on Saturday 17th August 2013 as a first year of being together.

We got sat straight down and served within minutes.

I we both ordered a Garlic Bread (It's the one thing we order in all restaurants to compare). It was freshly made and the toppings were to die for.

My girlfriend ordered Duck a ‘orange off the special board which was a juicy middle section served in an extremely complimenting orange sauce with sides to match.

I ordered an Italian style Wild Boar Stew. I've never had Wild Boar but the meat was cooked to perfection and crumbled apart when you ate it. Simply put, it was divine.

We had profiteroles and a Summer Fruit Meringue which were both rich in flavour and texture.

Overall a fantastic night and I would highly recommend going.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is without doubt my favourite restaurant, we went again last night and took son, daughter in law and baby Mabel ( three weeks old). Four of us had the tapas and Jo had a a main from the menu. The food as always was first class and we came away bursting at the seams. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab night and really different, what a nice evening we had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went Wednesday night and had the tapas meal. It was excellent value the food was freshly cooked, the service was excellent. We will go back , Even better as you can take your own drinks Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Visited La Dolce Vita to celebrate our daughters graduation on 15 July 2013 and it was the perfect choice. Being able to bring our own wine was an added advantage and the food was delicious - especially the strudel. The ambience is very welcoming and friendly and waiting for the freshly prepared food was no burden as it allowed more time for conversation. The waiter was charming and efficient and helped to make this the perfect end to a perfect day. The disco volante was huge and deserved a place on Man v Food. The antipasti, stuffed mushrooms, roast pork in prune sauce, chicken in orange sauce etc were all thoroughly enjoyable.
Thanks La Dolce Vita for such a happy and long lasting memory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.