We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns Bar & Brasserie

Browns Bar & Brasserie
St. Paul's Chambers | 8-12 St. Pauls Parade, Sheffield S1 2JL, England
+44 114 276 6710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #209 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: English, Bar, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure hotel in October with my boyfriend for a weekend break, 2 minute walk to Browns restaurant. The restaurant was fully booked however the service was excellent and they managed to squeeze us in! The food was amazing! And not too expensive either. Overall we had a lovely time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    81
    37
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited the restaurant as a family of four, we had four different starters and four different main courses, all were excellent and a member of our party commented the rib eye steak being the best he had ever had anywhere !.
Our waitress for the evening was called Jade and she was absolutely superb,very helpful and extremely polite, an absolute credit to Browns.
Overall, the atmosphere, food, drinks and service as superb and we would definitely go there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely meal. Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here at 6pm after being booted out of All Bar One as we had my 5 year old daughter with us. We sat upstairs-a bit cold and the tables are small, but that's the limit of my complaints. Food fab-cauliflower tempura yum yum! Husbands burger a bit on small side, but little girls massive...so they shared. I highly recommend the kids ice cream...it comes with a cookie my girl didn't want. Bonus!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cold and bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As other reviewers have said the starters are not as described on the menu. The king prawns are not King prawns whatever the chef claims, they are in fact tiny prawns and you get six, however they were apparently tasty. The crab stack thing was tasteless and had obviously been sat in a fridge for a long time. Cod special was a beautiful piece of fish but served cold and unseasoned rendering it in edible. They removed this from the bill and deducted 20% which I thought was more than reasonable. Staff (other than chef who should know better) nice, cocktails fabulous, good location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get past the urine smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you can stand staying in the restaurant for ten mins max, you get past the strong smell of toilets and then the experience is worth it. We sat upstairs as far from the toilets as possible and enjoyed a lovely lunch. When we came back downstairs the smell was horrendous but the toilets below ground level were spotless and smelt fresh so who knows where the smell is from but it's not good.
The food isn't cheap but different and presented well and the wine is basically just overpriced. The ingredents in the salads were not quite what the menu had said but it didn't spoil the lunch and the chef was non-plus about the alterations so that was a minus also.
Would like to have said "very good" against the food and service but sorry, they need to sort out the smell.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Browns Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.