We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Change” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid

The Orchid
217-219 London Road, Sheffield S2 4LJ, England
01142508750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant for the first time having purchased a 'deal' on the Internet. The greeting was warm and friendly, after being shown to our table and having the chance to look around etc it would be fair to say the place could do with a freshen up & paint job. The decor was very tired and out-dated. The choice of food we found to be quite limited with our voucher option, however we did enjoy our food, not the largest portions, however it was all very nice. May return in the future but not in a desperate hurry as there are nicer Thai restaurants in Sheffield.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not the best thai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

There are much better thai options in Sheffield, The service is slow and plodding, the food is okay but you can notice the quality of ingredients is not as good as other restaurants, for a £20 meal deal its not the worst but far from the best.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value, delicious food, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had been here many years ago and was happy to try it again with a voucher from groupon. Had a nice surprise, food was great, amazing tempura for starter. Everything hot and fresh, nice staff too. Decor a little tired but a very enjoyable evening. Would defo return, especially with another voucher.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An OK night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's not the best night out you're ever going to have in Sheffield, even on London Road, neither is it the best Thai food you'll ever eat, but it's far from being the worst. The decor is a little tired, but the service is welcoming and to a good standard. There's a nice buzz about the place. The food is more than adequate for the money. I'd happily go again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Latest visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife & I have now been to this restaurant a number of times as a couple and with friends, every time we have been we are shown to our table straight away, nibbles arrive with the menu's followed with a jug of water. There is no rush to order but as soon as you are ready the waitress is there with a smiling face. The food soon follows and is freshly cooked, you eat at the pace you want never being rushed even when they are busy (which is most of the time, pre-booking is advised, in 8 or 9 visits we have never been disapointed and have now stopped using our previous Thai resturant. If you are in the area it is a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.