We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Holiday Inn Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Holiday Inn Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I travelled with my sister a couple of night to Sheffield as we were visiting Chatworth House which is in the area.

The Hotel was easy to find and has own parking £5 for 24 hours. I think is a good price but would be perfect if it will be free.

The room and toilet were very clean and confortable. Fantastic to have air con in the room.

The breakfast was very good.

Congratulations to the GM and all the staff for provide us with a fantastic service.

Room Tip: I stayed in floor 4 and everything was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, its great to see that our customer service is appreciated and we will be sure to continue with this.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast options as we are constantly trying to improve the offering.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    231
    65
    11
    4
See reviews for
88
147
28
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Considering this was at the budget end of the hotel market, the experience was anything but budget. Beautifully presented, helpful staff and rooms which were remarkably large. My shower was bigger than some of the hotel rooms I've stayed in in the past. Hotel is a short walk to the city centre. The only down side for me was nothing to do with the hotel its self, it was just its location next to a really old run down NCP car park. Despite this I would happily recommend and will happily stay there again next time I visit my son at Uni.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to see you next time you visit your son
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I booked Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre online, It was easy to book and Cheap aswell. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for just 1 night and I must say we had a lovely time here, close to the river and close to all the nightlife and shops too. This place is well maintained, immaculate and very nicely decorated too. The staff on arriving were very chatty and friendly too, letting us know what was available and keeping us informed. Our bedroom was nice with a lovely big bed and nicely modern stylish decorated room with a great view from the bedroom window. Also nicely tiled bathroom and very good shower indeed with nice fittings, we both had a greats night sleep too, to wake up to a lovely breakfast In the morning In with our price it was great value and food was delicious too. Anyboday who hasn't been here must check this lovely place to stay out. I will stay here again sometime In the future it's perfect for everything.

Room Tip: Room 1606 has a good view from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriend had a great stay with us and we hope that you will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute. The room was spotless and the bathroom had the biggest shower I have ever seen. We had a disabled guest with us and we had booked through Expedia but did not get a disabled room. The staff were very helpful and really done what they could to help nothing was too much trouble.
You get a complimentary breakfast which is sausages, scrambled eggs, and beans. There is also toast, pastries, yogurt and fruit something for everyone.
We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding your 2 nights stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and grown daughter. The room was spotlessly clean, but way too small for 3 adults. When I read the reviews, it mentioned King size bed and pull-out couch, so I thought it would work for us. The bed is what Americans call a queen bed. They do not have American king size beds. This was a problem for us, as we're all over 5'10" and need room to spread out. The bathroom was nice and the shower was huge. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and when we called to complain about the a/c not working properly, they moved us to another room right away. The location was right on the river in the downtown part of Sheffield, with easy transportation everywhere. The biggest complaint I have is the bed. The pull-out couch was not even fit for a small child, the bars could be felt through the thin mattress. The queen bed was very uncomfortable as well. Granted, we are spoiled by our own memory foam mattress at home, but as we get older, comfortable beds become much more important to us. Because of the beds, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and our customer service.

We do offer king size beds that we hope would rival your mattress at home, however these rooms are not equipped with the sofa bed which you required. I do hope that you would consider staying with us again when taking this information on board, as it seems that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel and the room were spotlessly clean. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was to die for. The shower was brilliant. The breakfasts whilst limited in choice were more than adequate and only greedy people could complain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest many thanks for your kind feedback, I will be sure to pass you comments on to our housekeeping team.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offering too and we are working hard to improve this.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time in Holiday Inn Express and pleasently surprised. Stayed over for a sports tournament with my daughter

Very helpful staff in reception who saved me some money on the car park. Room was spotlessly clean and well equipped for the price. Plenty of towels which seems to be unusual at this price.

Got a good night's sleep with no disturbance from the other rooms which was good. Had breakfast very early so missed any queues that there might have been later on. Breakfast was fine for us as it was included in price, with the exception of the orange juice which was one of the most revolting concoctions I have ever tasted.

Good value , decent location close enough to the city centre if you know which way to walk! Maps given out by the hotel were hopeless.

Will stay here again for sure if need to come back agaiin.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners ending 01 seem to have bigger pitcure windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your kind comments.

We will look into the orange juice offered during breakfast as this is the first comment we have received on this matter, many thanks for this feedback.

I will also review the maps that we distribute to guests as they are there to help the guests as much as our staff are.

I am pleased to see that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.