We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Sheffield
Ipswich
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Superb Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a package for a rock festival weekend held at Magna in Rotherham so we didn’t actually choose this hotel. However, I cannot praise highly enough the wonderful staff who were all friendly, courteous and helpful.
When we arrived they were very busy but still greeted us with a smile and checked us in quickly. When we returned to the reception for assistance with bus timetables they went straight to the internet to get the latest information and when the following day we wanted to watch a football match on TV at a local pub, they quickly pulled a map from a drawer, gave us the name of the pub and showed us how to get there. On returning to the hotel at around 1 in the morning and in need of a drink, someone was quickly at the bar and we were served with a smile.
My only criticism of the hotel was the bed which was so soft that I had to hold onto the edge of the mattress to stop me rolling into the middle!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    183
    53
    9
    2
See reviews for
68
112
20
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here while at a conference across the road. Had a great nights sleep great facilities clean & functional. enjoyed good breakfast selection couldn't fault the service 'it does what it says on the tin'

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here while working at the Royal Victoria Hotel next door. My only criticism would be that neither were the easiest to navigate to by car, in terms of finding the entrance drive to both, and then the door into the Holiday Inn Express, confusing to say the least! Having parked on the drive, it was frustrating to see a door to a lift on the upper drive level (that connects the two hotels) but to be unable to enter the lift without a key card...that I was not given until check in. I had the choice of walking right back down the drive with my bags and then around the corner to the Express entrance on the lower level, or driving back down the drive, out into the busy traffic to be able to enter the Express ground level car park. Car parking costs £5 for the day if you pay at reception and they will helpfully notify the other hotel if you move your car to the other car park, if like me you are staying at one but using the other hotel for an event. There is ample parking, well lit, although the spaces closest to the Express entrance at ground level seemed to be at a premium.

Once I had found my way in, the hotel facilities were really impressive and I was glad to be spending less and staying at the Express over the Royal Victoria. The room was surprisingly spacious, well-fitted and comfortable. We won't talk about the view as I hadn't come for that and in any case, the net curtain concealed it nicely! The bathroom was very good with a lovely powerful shower, large fluffy towels and plenty of shower/hand wash.

I ate dinner at the Royal Victoria so can't comment on the Express offering, but I believe they served bar food. Breakfast is a self service buffet, quite basic but adequate, with a fairly limited cooked breakfast, cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit juices and hot beverages.

Service was friendly and helpful and I would be happy to use this hotel should I return to Sheffield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the Express while attending a conference at the Royal Victoria Hotel next door. The hotel is an easy walk from the station (but do cross over the main road straight away). The staff were very helpful and considerate, the rooms spacious and comfortable. There was a good choice for help-yourself breakfast and plenty of seating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is my first ever stay at a Holiday Inn Express and I was really impressed and it wasn't anything like I expected.

The room was massive for a budget hotel, the bed was comfortable and the pillows were similar to what I have at home so it helped with sleeping better.

The sofa was only for one?! When traveling as a couple the other person would have to either sit on the bed or the desk chair.

The shower was lovely! Spacious cubicle and was glass so no horrible shower curtain getting in the way. The toiletries are out of a dispenser but I always bring my own so didnt really bother me too much. The sink for shaving was too high (or I was too short) and too shallow but now I am being OVERLY picky!

Breakfast was basic but essentially it is complimentary so one cannot complain.

On the whole a very comfortable trip and handy and will definitely choose this hotel again when in Sheffield.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for work and it was ideal. Central location, about 15 mins walk from the station. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. The hotel itself was great, friendly staff, easy check in, room was great with comfy bed, good facilities and roomy too. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and again friendly and helpful staff. Room was quiet and no interruptions from outside noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Have to say I've stayed in hotels twice the price & higher star rating that fall well below the standard of this hotel. Hotel seems very new, very clean & smart. Even with a bar area that had a modern interior with plenty of space to relax. Room was spacious enough with TV, kettle, sofa. You can borrow iron from reception. Nice large shower but no bath. Location is good for parking £5 a day on site but limited spaces or multistory next door for £10 a day. Walk to centre is 10mins, also close to canal area which has a nice cafe bar. Breakfast was included in room rate & adequate for price. Staff very helpful. Overall a good hotel for a budget price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.