We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for three nights a fortnight ago and was so impressed I'm here again now for another three nights. (26th, 27th and 28th Feb).

The welcome on arrival is warm, friendly and nothing seems too much. The staff can't seem to do enough! Great facilities on the ground floor! Evening meals of good quality! Breakfast the usual HI fare but perfectly adequate. Oh and the ice machine is a nice touch.

First stay was on the 1st floor (1111) and this stay on the 6th (1607). It does seem quieter at night the higher up you are.

The rooms are identical, really big, very clean, massive double power shower and all the facilities you could wish for. I really can't fault it! Oh and a really nice touch are the power sockets next to the bed, a feature often not found in other chains.

If I could have one wish it would be to be able to transfer my Best Western loyalty points over to Priority Club points as I've really no intention of leaving HI for business trips.

Next week I'm in the HI Express in Victoria London. Fingers crossed its half as decent as Sheffield City Centre! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon, enjoy your time in London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    231
    65
    11
    4
See reviews for
88
147
28
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday night and hotel was probably full. No problem finding hotel or parking. Friendly reception staff. Modern hotel. Very comfortable room on top (7th?) floor - bigger than some HiE rooms I have stayed in. Quiet location but only 5 min walk to City Centre and tram stop. Usual HiE breakfast, perfectly adequate, included in room price. Quite busy but friendly staff cleared tables and "topped up" regularly. Enjoyable stay.
Recommended and would/will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind feedback we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of Sheffield city centre venues such as the Crucible, Lyceum Theatre, O2, etc. There is parking (payable) on sight. The hotel staff are welcoming, and the complimentary breakfast is better than most 'express' arrangements. Rooms are good - we were upgraded to a king size on the 7th floor, extremely well laid out, with good shower rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. Although, the breakfast product range is prescribed by the Holiday Inn Express brand, we do continually evaluate the quality and presentation of the products on offer and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your breakfast with us. Furthermore, I am delighted that you appreciated your bed room and shower. We trust that we can welcome you back at our hotel when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stay here regularly when in Sheffield City Centre (only a couple of minutes walk away). The hotel is no-frills as such and hence works out economically as well as convenient (and no less convenitent than other hotels, despite what you might beleive from looking at maps).
The reception staff are friendly and always happy to help.
The real strength of this hotel is however the housekeeping staff - you may not see them, but they do a great job. The rooms are immaculately clean - always. And for me that is so important and rare to find this these days - some hotels of a higher rating could learn a few things about cleanliness from this hotel.
Rooms are adequately furnished and beds comfortable. Nothing is going to give you a feeling of luxury as such, but, everything is functional and as I say, the most important thing is just how clean and well maintained all of the rooms are.
Breakfast is basic but adequate and DIY. Only suggestions I can make is:
please sort out the toast machines which never seem to toast properly - you get warm bread or carbon, never toast;
make it clear if the breakfast area is self clear or not (I'm always confused by this).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

One night stay in the hotel was fantastic, I was not really expecing much with it being an express but the rooms are very modern and clean, the bed was HUGE!! bathroom very well set out. I found the breakfast good, again for an express what do you expect? parking at £8 for 24 hours i think is reasonable. overall will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you had a great stay. I will pass your feedback on to our housekeeping team, who I know will be happy to hear their work is appreciated. Please rest assured that we will also look into setting the toasters to improve the quality of the toast. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel. Regarding the breakfast area, it is indeed self clear, however, we are always happy to assist our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights as it was my boyfriend's 21st birthday. I am a diabetic and after waking at 4AM with an episode of low blood sugar, i headed down to the reception to see if i could purchase something from the little snack shop they have. When i got down there i discovered it was closed however I explained to the man on reception that I was diabetic and i needed something sugary urgently. The staff member rudely replied 'I can't open it, but the Tesco petrol station will be open'. Now for him to suggest to an 18 year old girl that they should walk down to the tesco petrol station at 4AM in the morning, in an area which is considered rough, is disgusting and he wasn't to know I had my boyfriend with me. After truding down to the local tesco we both returned to find 2 drunken girls, purchasing something from the little snack shop. After they had done this and paid, the receptionist pulled down the blind . on the shop. I feel highly let down, and treated unfairly. I also feel my condition was not taken seriously enough and the service i recieved was quite frankly disgusting and dispicable. Some could argue it would be my own fault for not having anything to treat the low blood spell, but, this shouldn't have happened regardless. HIGHLY DISSAPOINTED !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear megsyrose,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad that our location and room accommodations worked suitable for your needs. However, I am deeply sorry for the issues you experienced with the staff. I have taken note of your comments and these will be relayed to them so that they can continuously improve on their efforts.

Again, thank you for your comments and we take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed here the other night and had an excellent room on the corner of the hotel overlooking the river. Glass on 2 sides of the corner was great. Massive bed - biggest ever in an HIE.
Got there late due to road works and dinner was stopped but got some helpful suggestions from reception and found a takeaway round the corner.
Quite near the main road and the main run for the ambulances it appears - which run all night!! but not too noisy apart from that.
Has reasonalble carparking facilities and charges

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind feedback, if you are a light sleeper then please do not hesitate to request a room to the rear of the hotel the next time you have a room requirement in Sheffield, which I can assure you is quieter.

We hope that we will welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Sheffield again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk St, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.