We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much colour, so much to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Botanical Gardens

The Botanical Gardens
Clarkehouse Road | Broomhall, Sheffield S10 2LN, England
44-114-250-0500
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Attractions in Sheffield
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So much colour, so much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Restored to their former glory a few years, the Botanical Gardens are now a firm favourite in Sheffield.

For those into plants there is so much to see. For those of us who do not understand plants then we can be satisfied in seeing the variety of colour and form and enjoying those. Lawns, potted plants, displays, themed areas and even a bear pit are all to be found here. The plants in the greenhouse are splendid. The greenhouse itself is even better. Worth the trip just to that.

Bring the kids and enjoy the stroll.

Parking is on street at both top and bottom entrances. The bottom entrance is next to Ecclesall Road with its array of eateries. The Old Curator's House within the Gardens also serves refreshments.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    173
    16
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth visiting even on a grey November day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As I happened to be near these gardens for a couple of days I thought I'd visit in spite of it being a grey November day. I started with the glass houses and there was a reasonable selection of plants from different parts of the world. The main gardens have a number of different areas and in spite of the time of year I found a number of plants in full bloom. I particularly liked the water gardens. There was still quite a bit of Autumn colour and I went back again later in the day as the sun came out and the colours were much more vivid.
This park is obviously a haven for local people in the midst of the city and there were loads of seats which I'm sure are much appreciated in warmer times of the year.
Like many gardens there are many different routes through the gardens so one can just walk through it or meander through lots of different paths.
This may not be the most spectacular gardens and they are quite small but they are free so any visit is our bonus.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gardens to visit at any time of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Sheffield Botanical Gardens are a joy to visit at any time of year. I walk through them every month and enjoy the changing seasons. Particularly favourite areas are the water garden and the old Victorian Bear Pit (still occupied by a bear (statue)).

During the summer months the gardens provide a lovely setting for outdoor concerts and theatre. Particularly memorable are a production of Shakespeare's 'MIdsummer Night's Dream' and 'Last NIght of the Proms' classical concerts.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A grand place no matter what time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I love the Sheffield Botanical Gardens. During the summer it's a great place to relax and watch they world go by. During the summer the glasshouses provide a grand place to have a picnic and discover the varied plants.
It's free and has good transport links with the rest of the city and easy walking distance to Ecclesall Road with it's restaurants and cafes

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis in Sheffield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A riot of colour in the flowerbeds and a good plce to get ideas for your garden as some plants have names on so you can identify them . The recently restored glass houses reflect the Victorian grandure of the gardens . Take nuts and feed the squirrels who are very cheeky .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.