We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheffield Manor Lodge

Sheffield Manor Lodge
Manor Ln., Sheffield S2 1UF, England
+44 114 276 2828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Attractions in Sheffield
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a hidden gem this place is!! Spent a wonderful few hours here with my 8 year old daughter and her friend. The discovery centre is full of wonderful information about the place and surrounding area and the ruins are fabulous to see, and the staff are brilliant The best part being the Turret House. We attended a pottery workshop which was fabulous. The play area and land/walks around Manor Lodge were unexpectedly fantastic, no doubt enhanced by the lovely weather today! Such a tremendous vantage point to view the city in all it's glory. If you haven't been yet - go!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An underrated attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sheffield Manor Lodge is a fantastic free attraction just outside the city centre.Although there is not a lot of the ruins left it is a beautiful interesting place to visit.The Turret is in its entirety and on Special open days you can explore it or a nominal fee.The visitor centre is free to visit and very informative with a wide variety of history book to purchase.The views of the castle and its surroundings are spectacular,well worth taking the camera.A must visit

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

very good place to vist,lovely ruins and grounds the turret house is a must see,the people who run the place are fantastic

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mary Stuarts Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

when they open and have a open day you get to see inside of lodge ,and they dress in Elizabethen dress.
sometimes have stall and games .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure - great for an uplifting visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went up to Manor Lodge Open Day on Saturday and had the most wonderful two hours or so.

I went on my own as all my grandchildren were busy doing other things but the whole day was delightful. I was so impressed with the glorious meadows the Green Estate and Friends have planted - they looked absolutely beautiful and the sun was shining too. I looked around all the stalls and had a nice enjoyable spend on plants, chocolates, wildlife things etc. All the people manning the stalls (which looked so lovely in their medieval way) were so friendly and helpful. The plant stall just above the Rhubarb Shed was super and the people there so enthusiastic I could have bought every plant in their catalogue! There was a stall with lovely homemade wines to sample and I would have bought a bottle if they had had a licence to sell it. The allotments looked very healthy and well kept and I met a delightful couple there, this gentleman's wife was sitting there with her grandchildren whilst he was pottering a bout on his allotment. They were all so very enthusiastic and jolly. In fact the people I passed along the lovely paths were all smiling and happy looking with their children and grandchildren.

I think I might write to the Sheffield Telegraph about what a nice day one can have if you are on your own and feeling down (well, I wasn't actually down) but it was so uplifting. I could have been anywhere - in the middle of a meadow, at a country fayre or whatever. But each time I visit Manor Lodge I come away with a smile on my face and a spring in my step.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Manor Lodge also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Sheffield Manor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheffield Manor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.