We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Fox House | Hathersage Road, Longshaw, Sheffield S11 7TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Daws Heath
1 review
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved our stay at The Fox House, what a beautiful old building in a great location. This lodge is fab if you are looking for a unique, character property at a very inexpensive price, which even includes breakfast! We are amazed that people can complain about the inclusive (i.e. free continental breakfast) it was always fresh with plenty of choice of cereals, toast, bagels, croissants, fresh fruit, butter, cheeses and yogurts. The food in the restaurant was also very tasty and we loved the choice of non-alcoholic drinks especially Lempom.
If I wanted to be picky I could name some problems but they are far out weighed by the friendly helpful staff and this wonderful building full of history. We had a lovely relaxing stay and would definitely book again..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Hathersage, Peak District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    22
    21
    18
See reviews for
37
47
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at the Fox House and upon check in were greeted with some mutterings about the booking not having a note that we were to be two adults and two children (in spite of the confirmation e-mail I had in my hand that clearly noted that fact). We were assured not to worry, and that all of the rooms were actually "family" rooms. We were shown to a room in a building across the courtyard from the main pub/restaurant building. As soon as the hall door to the accommodations building was opened the musty/mouldy smell hit us. Hmmm. Well, it had been raining? The room we were given was fairly large, with a double bed and a sofa bed which was larger than a single, but not by much. The sofa bed was listing to one side but we didn't notice it until after the clerk had let us in. After a sleepless night (LOTS of road noise - the place is out in the middle of nowhere, but it seemed there were trucks speeding by at all hours; also, it sounded as if there was a herd of elephants in the room above us the sound from footsteps, water running, toilets flushing, doors closing etc. was so loud) we were happy to leave and be on our way. We discovered after looking under the sofa bed upon rising in the morning that the bottom leg of the bed was completely BROKEN! It's no wonder it was listing so badly. When we returned the key in the morning and complained that the bed/sleep was uncomfortable due to the non-functional sofa bed we were met with a snigger. It appeared quite clearly that the staff knew of the broken bed and still let us stay in, and pay for, that room. There was mould in the shower (no shower curtain at all). The breakfast was bread, bagels, yogurt (organic, which seemed so out of place given the rest of our experience), some fresh and dried fruit, and some dry cereal. It was an average continental breakfast in terms of quantity, and below average in terms of quality. All in all, please do NOT stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Hathersage, Peak District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Fox House, during a tour of the midlands and peak district, and it was the worst accommodation of our 7-night trip.

On arrival, we were asked to pay up-front before even seeing the room, this is occasional practice these days but I don't think it's very welcoming. On being shown the double room (room 7), we were surprised to see that the double bed was pushed against the wall, meaning that one of us had to climb in from the end or get into bed 'single file'. Further examination of the room revealed hairs on the bathroom floor, a broken shower curtain, no telephone, a broken wardrobe rail, bulb missing from wall light, electric towel rail didn't heat, and of most pressing issue, a missing tv remote control. My partner went to reception and asked for a tv remote control, and was told that it had been pinched and they had one on order. So no remote control. We were bit put out by now, and examined the room more closely, starting with the fire escape map situated on the back of every hotel room door. The little map actually showed our location to be in the next room, and revealed one very interesting fact - Room 7 is a single room, not a double. So that was why the bed was pushed against the wall - it was a 'double for single' occupancy. We went to reception and asked to speak to the manager, who apparently was in the kitchen and unable to speak to us, and told to try and speak to her in the morning. A largely sleepless night followed, as we tried to get comfortable on the horrible mattress, where you could feel every spring and the pillows were hugely soft and just caved in when you put your head on them.

The next morning came all too soon and we went in for breakfast. Apparently, it was to be 'continental', so we were expecting rolls, cheese, ham etc. There was a good selection of bread products and some cereals and a fruit bowl, but that was about it, to the disappointment of my Atkins-devotee partner. There was much general turning-up of noses amongst the guests at the frugal breakfast.

We asked to speak to the manager, who once again was absent, and remained so for the rest of our stay. We were ably dealt with by the assistant manager, who arranged for us to move room and made a very generous offer regarding terms. So we moved to a nicer room, were very pleased and started examining it. Once again, a bulb missing from the wall light and no tv remote control. I went to the bar and asked if they actually had any tv remote controls at all, and they went and got one from another room which was being cleaned.

That night we had dinner at the pub, which was very nice, but service was slow. Then another horrible sleepless night on the cheap mattress, this time with pillows stuffed with lumps of rock. Couldn't wait to leave in the morning, my partner didn't even bother coming to breakfast.

Another point to note is that it's not in Hathersage, so there's no nice village to walk around. There's a selection of maps at the bar, well, at least there are map covers, when you open them the map inside is missing. It's rather surprising that so many of the Fox House guests seem to be hardened criminals and think nothing of stealing tv remote controls, light bulbs and maps.

I have to say again that the assistant manager offered us a very generous discount, however, we would have preferred the hotel to be nice and not have all the drama.

Room Tip: Although they book Room 7 as a double it is not; it's a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Hathersage, Peak District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we came to visit our grandaughter, who is at sheffield university. After reading some of the reviews about the Fox House we wanted to book a different hotel, but after reassurance from our grandaughter, who had stayed the previous yaer with her mum when she moved here to start university, we decided to stay. I am very pleased we did, check in was a little confusing as bar was busy and there is no obvious sign as to were the check in is and when you do find it, it is in a very awkward place, that said the staff were apologetic and extremely helpful. only draw back is having to walk through a very busy pub with your suitcases to get to the accomidation. But the forecourt and lodge was a real supprise, this building dates back to 1500 and after a short history lesson from a very lovely liverpool lady we arrived at our room. the room was clean, basic but nicely decorated, bathroom was very clean and the view was fantastic. This lodge is fantastic if your looking for an in-expensive break. WIFI is free and after logging in which can be tricky due to the location of the lodge is great, TV offeres a choice of channels but basic, tea and coffee facilities are int the room. We dinned with our Grandaughter in the pub and the service was fantastic nothing was too much trouble. Food was lovely and dessert which was peanut butter cheese cake is highly recommended, we then had our coffee sat in front of the fire in the bar area in very comfortable high back winged leather chairs, and although the fire was not lit, due to it being summer, there where some fairy lights in amonst the logs giving it a suggested comfort.
If i had to sum up the Fox House, its a budget hotel and ideal for walkers and short breaks, its has a very romantic setting and location is breathtaking. There a a few flaws but they are far out weighed by the management and staff. we thoughroughly enjoyed our stay, would I book a two weeks holiday here, probably not as long stay need a few more creature comforts but for short stays and a romantic weekend it certainly gets a 5 star approval from me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This visit was a real pleasure and such a lovely break. We were a little concerned about previous reviews on tripadvisor but things must have changed for the better recently. When we arrived, the manager and staff had just won the 'Team of the Month' award from the company and deservedly so. We were shown to our room by Jaquie and everything explained to us. We were made to feel really welcome. The location is superb and a very popular spot for walkers and tourists. The bar and restaurant were really busy but we were served very promptly. The hospitality was lovely and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ours was Room 11 - very quiet with a superb view over the moors. Plenty of space for the two of us i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a number of hotels whilst visiting the peak district and this was easiest the best hotel. We'd booked a family room and it was made up ready for us - a friendly member of staff greeted us and took us to the room.

The room was a good size with plenty of room for the 4 of us - with a double and single bed plus a sofa bed. It was a little dark as it only had a small window for a large room but it was nicely decorated/appointed and clean. We were near to the main road but did not really notice any road noise - the only noise we did get was from the adjoining rooms bathroom (better sound-proofing would be good here!)

The included buffet breakfast was great with a very friendly and attentive member of staff looking after us and explaining all the choices. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening twice and enjoyed the food both times (pies were very good!) and received good service.

Location is superb - very remote with great scenery. This also means that mobile reception is patchy but the free wifi helped here (the reviewer complaining that you need a mobile signal to get it missed the "No mobile signal" option which gives you a temporary pass).

The only real negatives was the fact you had to use a fire exit to access the pub/restaurant from the rooms and that we had to hunt around for someone to check out..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been to the Fox House many times and although it's great for a quick pint after your walking/climbing/riding/driving I wouldn't recommend staying there at all, or even eating there unless you have plenty of patience.

Yes, it's in an amazing location, but they should really see that as something to live up to rather than giving people a very 'average' end to what are often amazing days out.

I've been told by them on a few occasions that they are 'short staffed' but as unfortunate as that is, it's not the customers job to pay the price for their staffing arrangements is it? The prices on the menus stay the same whatever the staffing situation!

Last weekend I stayed the night in a family room with my wife and daughter, this is a brief list of our experience.


.On arrival the member of staff 'couldn't log on to the system' in order to check us in properly and give us a receipt etc...
We wanted to extend our booking an extra night in order to make proper plans for the weekend but she was unable to tell us whether this was possible so she assured us she'd come and let us know later on. This didn't happen so we had to book in somewhere else. (blessing in disguise?)

.Access to the rooms is poor, you have to walk through the pub itself, up and down some steps and through an external door which is often locked shut and the only way of getting through is simply banging on the door until (hopefully) a member of staff, or a bored and hungry customer, opens it for you. Not a great way for guests to have to get around.

.The room was very average, not much like the photos. The bathroom extractor fan stays on for what feels like hours after use and is extremely noisy, the TV menu was set to a a language I didn't even recognise let alone understand!
The 'free Wi-Fi is problematic. You have to have a code texted to you for it to work but you don't get phone reception (orange) in the rooms in order to get this text. I had to wander around the front car park to find the necessary combination of Wi-fi and Phone reception to get online.

.Food. What can I say?
Almost everyone in our restaurant section seemed to have a bad experience. Some of the dishes are fairly tasty, though some are poor and clearly thrown together with dressing missing, ingredients missing, salad which is brown and beyond edible etc...

The service is awful (barring the very lovely lady who apologised to us at the end).
We had a clear conversation about our starters and mains all coming together so we could eat at the same time, as a family. Unsurprisingly this didn't happen meaning my wife had to stare at her food for 20 mins while we waited for more dishes to arrive, after asking 3 different people to help us with this.

We finally received out bread basket 30 mins into our meal...

We also asked for some Balsamic Vinegar for our salads/breads only to be met with a confused look and then later to be told 'Balsamic vinegar isn't on the menu anymore'? Is a basic condiment really something which has to feature on a menu? Confused.

My 'Seasonal Salad' had all the 'seasonal' ingredients and 'herb dressing' missing.

We weren't even asked once whether we'd like another drink? Spitting feathers!

When we finally left the next morning I couldn't even get out of the car park as they seem to use a white van to block off the car park exit over night?? This was still there at about 10.30am with no clear sign of how to get it moved so after loading up the car you have to get out again and find someone, who then has to fond someone else, who then has to........ blah blah blah.

5 minutes later someone appeared and moved the van without so much as a smile or a wave. Just about sums it up!

For the around same money you could stay in The George Hotel down the road and have a lovely experience with one of the best breakfasts I've ever had.

Sadly, at the moment this is just 'stop for a quick pint' territory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District

Address: The Fox House | Hathersage Road, Longshaw, Sheffield S11 7TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three miles from the historic village of Hathersage, this charming country lodge dates back to 1773 and is one of the cosiest hotels in the Peak District. What's more, it's only a short drive from Sheffield and Chesterfield. The lodge, which you'll find within the Longshaw estate, offers 9 comfy, characterful rooms, a menu of hearty, seasonally inspired food, and a wide range of regularly changing cask-ales and well-chosen wines. Longshaw is a lovely place with many hidden gems: spectacular views, ancient oak woods, sleepy meadows, heather moorland, archeological treasures and millstone quarries. Locals will proudly tell you that it's also home to the oldest continuous sheep-dog trials in the country. If you've brought your walking boots, head for Hathersage - a great place to start your exploration of the area's intriguing rock formations. The area is a haven for walking and climbing, but it's also a popular with swimmers. That's because it's lucky enough to have its own heated outdoor swimming pool, set within a lawned enclosure and usually open from March through to September. There are plenty more pursuits to keep you busy, with Chatsworth House, Sheffield Botanical Gardens, Sheffield Ski Village and the ancient village of Eyam all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox House Vintage Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.