We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Even the roaches checked out.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alara Bed and Breakfast

Alara Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alara Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Alara Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   981 - 987 Penistone Road | Hillsborough, Sheffield S6 2DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Sheffield B&B and Inns
1 review
“OMG Even the roaches checked out.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The place is set on a main road next to Sheff Weds ground. The rooms are really basic and toilets and showers are at the foot of some stairs that can only be discribed as hymalayan. Spend a little more and stay at travel inn etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
3
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spent a night here on my way to Scotland. I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming and the double room and shared bathroom were both very clean. The staff were also very helpful in terms of recommending places to eat and methods of transport. This is an old, old building and so the steps leading to the bedrooms and shared bathrooms are very steep and narrow. It would not suit anyone with mobility problems and as I have bad knees I did find the steps a bit tricky. Noise was also an issue as it faces a busy road. None of this can be helped as this is the structure of the building and its location but I do have a couple of recommendations for the owners. One would be to buy blackout curtains for the windows and the other would be to put mattress toppers on the beds as mine was slightly uncomfortable due to some bulging springs.

Room Tip: Ask for an 'A' room or an ensuited room as this faces the back of the building away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I picked this place as it was close to work. It was reasonably clean. It could do with updating.
The staff were very friendly, breakfast was good. They have off road parking.
The bed they had for me needed the sheet changing (was stained with sweat) I moved to the other bed in the room. They have wifi which was good. I did have issues with some people tuning up at 1am they were not too noisy.
I wanted somewhere on a budget and it delivered that. It includes a cooked breakfast. Not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Needed a b&b for one night while we watched the mighty YEOVIL beat Sheffield Utd in the playoffs, and this was just the job! This b &b is only 500 yeards away from Sheffield Wednesdays ground so if you are a fan , its an ideal location.clean and very nice people ! Dont worry about the dog either, big softey !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a decent B&B in a down-market part of Sheffield. It is pretty battered, but very very clean. The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly. My room (1B) was very warm, and although it faced onto the busy main road at ground-level there was no noise problem. The breakfast was good quality and the dining room is bright and cheerful. There is off street parking at the back of the building. This room was very warm with a massive radiator.

As others have said, the stairs are very steep - the hotel used to be a row of terraces, and that's just the way the stairs are. This meant that because my room was not en-suite, I had to crawl up to the lavatories on the first floor (again all very clean, but a bit of a drag in the night).

So I would say, definitely not a holiday venue, but OK if you want a rough and ready overnight stay. Don't go if you can't manage stairs. Get an en-suite if at all possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Extremely basic accommodation even for contractors, ensuite is the sink in the corner of room. Stayed in room 8a. Very cold very draughty.

Btw I don't know who is writing these excellent review but it is almost cirtain that it is not hotel guests!!!!

Very cheap very basic, what do u want for 30 quid a night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALARA_Guesthouse, Owner at Alara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Localboy1230,

Thank you very much for your recent review regarding your stay with us. We extremely appreciate your feedback. We understand that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and we are deeply sorry for that.

Unfortunately, we need little more information about you and your stay so that we can look into the problems/disappointment you experienced during your stay as we are unable to find your booking with your TripAdviser username.

We received your review on the 23rd of January 2013 stating that you reviewed our establishment on the 22nd of January 2013. Could you please confirm the date you stayed, how many nights and the rate you paid? This will enable us to respond to your review efficiently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this B & B for one night. It was available last minute and was reasonabley priced, the staff were friendly and room was good with tv, kettle and sink. The downside was that shower and toilet was shared and it was very difficult to get a constant temperature in the shower. The fried breakfast though wad great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alara Bed and Breakfast

Address: 981 - 987 Penistone Road | Hillsborough, Sheffield S6 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alara Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last eight years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alara Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alara Hotel Sheffield
Alara b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alara Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.