We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Aston Hall and we are highly delighted with every aspect of the services provided. Along with a number of guests we stayed extended the wedding by staying overnight. The quality and facilities provided are as good as any we've experienced elsewhere.
In particular we would like to thank Tara and Scott for all their help in the planning and delivery of the whole wedding experience. Thank you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about the team.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    86
    45
    17
    21
See reviews for
62
98
8
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a very pleasant location with comfortable spacious rooms and, in the main, helpful staff. Unfortunately the only food option in the location of Aston is to eat in the Hotel.
Having stayed twice over the last two weeks I would not go back, even though I am a Best Western Gold Card holder.
The first night I had rack of lamb which was more akin to road kill, very poor quality meat, very badly cooked and inedible. The second night I had Duck which was so tough it needed significant force to cut it. It looked like it was boiled in a bag, truly awful.
I complained on both occasions and sent the food back and on both occasions they insisted on charging me for two meals which I did not eat, disgraceful.
This lovely hotel, great rooms and location was badly let down by a kitchen serving food which was not fit for consumption.
I would also comment that the breakfast was very good, maybe they should serve it in the evenings?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We seem to be unaware of any issues with the lamb previously. We do apologise for any problems you may have experienced with our food. ALL of our food is freshly prepared daily, and I can confirm there is no 'boil in a bag' food served at Aston Hall, ever. I am disappointed you will not be considering staying with us again, even though you enjoyed everything about the hotel, with the exception of your dinner. We hope you re think your decision of not staying at the hotel again, especially if you were happy with facilities and service.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed at Aston Hall Best Western with a colleague. Both rooms were in the new section of the hotel in the main building and were very spacious modern and contemporary. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, evening meal in the resteraunt was very good, though quite small and all tables quickly filled ( our 8.00 table reservation ready by 8.15 good excuse to stay for another in the bar ) putting the serving staff under pressure, so service a bit slow and food a little slower than expected but worth the wait. Breakfast was a delight not the usual dried buffet food but fresh menu ordered with many variations from the standard full english.

One suggestion .... cakes and cookies in the bar ??? 3 other customers in the bar also asked for crisps or nuts that evening..Apparently there is no call for them....??

Looking for a business overnighter in this area, loads of parking with secure barrier and free wifi you can't go wrong...

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Our cakes and flapjacks sell quite well. Based on your comments, we will be considering adding crisps as well.

Regards,
Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We held a surprise birthday party for my mums 90th birthday on Sunday 12th May in the Vantage Suite, the staff on the day ensured the day ran smoothly and were very friendly and helpful throughout and a big thank to Rebecca for pre party arrangements.
The room was set out lovely and the food presented for the afternoon tea was very appertising, and I thought good value for money.
Wouldn't hesitate to use again or recommend to friends.
Thank you for making a very special occasion memorable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for you comments! We are delighted to hear such a unique occasion went really well. We hope to welcome you and your family to the hotel in years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want friendly, helpfull staff this is the place for you we could not fault anyone of them, bar staff, waiters/ess in the restaraunt, housekeeping all excellent. Food far better than expected would do a 4* plus justice.

The hotel decor is a little bland nearly all white. It looks like it has been emulsioned to make it look clean until the owners have time to do it correctly. Hope I am right as this could be an amazing hotel. ( I was informed that the hotel has newish owners but dont know whether this is true)

Check in, receptionist was very pleasant but when we told her we had booked early check in for 1.00pm she wasnt aware of this not her fault but it was an inconvenience as we only had a short stay (2 days) we went for a bite to eat until our room was ready which was about 2.30pm.

As we went into the room we noticed a foul smell we contacted reception who immediately notified house keeping we left our room and went to the bar. After about half an hour we went back to the room there was a strong smell of air freshener but the foul smell still lingered, we informed reception who told us straight away they would move us to another room. Which they did, from requesting an early book in, the time was now 4.00pm before we were settled into a room.

All in all we very much loved our stay, just the one small glitch. A bit more in the decor department would make this a very good hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. Best Western Plus Aston Hall is now under new ownership since May 2012, and we do have plans to re decorate the bar, lounge and restaurant areas. We hope you can come again once it is all done so you can see the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel which is situated at the end of a nice curving drive has a stunning experience when you drive up to the spacious car park.

The reception desk is situated in the original hall with original mosaics on the floor.

Check in was very quick & efficient and I then had the pleasure of ascending the grand staircase. My room was very large with a superb writing desk for me to work on with a sofa and a couple of easy chairs for relaxing on. The queen size bed felt rather hard but I had an excellent nights sleep.Although there was a large coffee table it the room it lacked a casual table near the sofa and definitely needed a bedside table and a light over the bed for reading.

The shower room was a total contrast being very small with no space to lay out my various toiletries and the tap to the sink was almost hanging off. The shower though was very good and the complimentary soap, shampoo etc were of a good quality.

The room had tea making facilities and complimentary biscuits and the free Wifi was fast and easy to access.

Dinner in the hotel was excellent although I do wish hotels & restaurants would not insist on seating people close together - especially when I want a quiet read!

The breakfast had a superb selection and the cooked breakfast tasted really good with good quality ingredients - a small gripe was that staff never took away the bowl I'd had my fruit in and when I'd finished my cooked breakfast I had to stack the various plates at the edge of the table to have some space.

In summary, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - so much so that I'm going back next week - and a few small improvements would have made me give this an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room looking out over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great that you enjoyed your stay and is returning to the hotel. I am sure your second stay will be just as pleasant and we will work hard to make it even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A beautiful hotel, with friendly polite staff where nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we walked in the service was excellent. The building itself is very impressive and tastefully decorated with a warm atmosphere. a nice sized bar area with comfortable seating and restaurant with beautiful crisp white table linen and good food that was beautifully cooked , presented and served. Our room was huge, contemporary design and very stylish the massive four poster bed was comfortable with crisp white bedding. There was a free standing roll top bath in the corner of the room and a beautiful bathroom with warm white towels and dressing gowns. A warm drinks facility and biscuits and tv and free wifi all made our stay relaxing and comfortable I will without a doubt stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your kinds words about the hotel. We are delighted you had a pleasant time while you were here. Hopefully we will see you at the hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel

Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.