We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of the hearty oak - CLOSED

the hearty oak
22 Northern Common Dronfield Woodhouse Derbyshire S18 8XJ, Sheffield, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviews on here that this place must have changed hands as we have been in the past and the food was always excellent. However, we called in on Saturday for some lunch and were really disappointed. First of all there was no-one to be seen behind the bar so we had to shout for someone and finally someone appeared but did not apologise for keeping us waiting! We decided to sit outside as it was a warm day and we were waiting ages for our food. I hoped it would be worth the wait and nice and fresh but it was very poor. I had the hunters chicken which was swimming in grease and my boyfriend had fish and chips which were also swimming in grease and he said the fish did not taste fresh. My boyfriend went back through into the bar to pay and he said could see through into the kitchen and it did not look very clean. We will definitely not be returning to the hearty oak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    3
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHIPS TO DIE FOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went for a family meal on Sunday evening. There was a Sunday Lunch menu and a choice of specials as well. The garlic mushrooms oozing with garlic and the creamy sauce was beautiful. Then came the rump steak with the CHIPS TO DIE FOR!!!crispy perfection!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to the hearty oak last week, the first time for a long while. We were greeted by a very pleasant lady who was very helpful. She did however inform us that due to her being away some of the items on the menu were not available . Needs to be a bit better organized. The food we did have was very good and freshly cooked. The real ale was also of good quality and the lady was also very informative on what real ales would be arriving next. It was a pleasant evening , we will return. Lets hope that a full menu is available and that there is someone who can order food should the boss lady not be there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutly AMAZING! Food is to die for!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited the Hearty Oak yestoday evening and was very pleased with EVERYTHING! The waitress' was very polite and greated us on arrival. Myself and company are very fussy eaters...but this was not a problem as they were more than happy to accomodate our needs! Due to being fussy eaters- the chef herself came out and offered to cook us whatever we liked with whatever we wanted. We were over the moon with all the staff's efforts and when the food arrived (with little waiting time) it was to die for! We all devoured our meals and could not have ask for anything more. The prices were very good and we had a brilliant evening. Atomosphere in the pub was great and we will deffinatly return with no hesitation! Great staff, great pub and AMAZING freshly cooked food! Our complimants to the Chef :)
Thankyou

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrendous - awful food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Decided to go and have a meal at the Hearty Oak on Wednesday evening with my son and grandson, I really wish we hadn't. Our greeting from the waitress was there was no steak, no mixed grill and no sausage. My son and I chose the gammon, we were told we couldn't have pineapple with it as they had run out but we could have two eggs each instead. When our meals were brought out the waitress informed us that we could only have one egg each as they only had two eggs left. We finished our main course which consisted of an extremely salty piece of gammon, chips swimming in grease and peas that were that hard you could probably bounce them. We then asked for the sweet menu, the waitress returned and informed us they only had three sweets left - chocolate sundae, ice cream and orange cheesecake. I had the cheesecake which tasted awful. Even the drinks were awful, the lemonade was flat and tasted like soda water.

Certainly won't be going back to eat or drink here ever again and would suggest to anyone considering eating here to go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the hearty oak also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the hearty oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.