We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining, casual service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Ceres

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Ceres
390 Sharrowvale Road, Sheffield, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #372 of 1,040 restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Casual dining, casual service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Since Ceres moved to their larger premises, things have taken a turn for the worse. The space the café is now in is too large, too cold and with very poor acoustics. Food gets cold very quickly and the menu remains the same. The staff are young and I'm sure they're great fun, but some service training wouldn't go amiss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    18
    23
    8
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love, love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fresh and delicious cooking comes from the Cafe Ceres kitchen. Home made dishes for lunch or fresh cakes with coffee... A great place to meet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Will not be going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thought we would give the new Ceres a try at Hunter's Bar. Very disappointing. Food was not bad, but expensive for what you get. Service was terrible with young staff who clearly have no idea how to serve and manage a cafe. Seeing this cafe is suppose to be French thats an insult to the French where waiting in a cafe is seen as a great profession and done well and expertly. Worse thing though is that the place is filthy, which leads you to sit there wondering what the kitchen must be like if they can not be bothered to clean front of house. We had the main course and decided to move elsewhere for coffee and cake. Will we not be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tastefully France.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another visit to Ceres on a busy Saturday eveing and we both had a great meal unlike some of the reviews below our food came a little to quick...but was full of taste also the wine Ceres was serving was great,really does put alot of restarants in Sheffield to shame.

Reasonably priced we always look forward to returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Invited by some friends who had visited the Sharrowvale Road premises I expected good food at a reasonable price.

The evening did not start well as we had requested an upstairs table and had to sit downstairs which in its many incarnations as a restaurant is not where you want to be. The menu looked interesting and very reasonable but the service was slow. It was busy but the staff did not appear to be in a hurry. The starters were fine and the Greek Salad was particularly good. We all had the Duck a l'orange which I understand is a speciality. What a disappointment, very little overcooked duck and no orange. The veg was good. I would gladly have paid 20% more for a decent portion of duck breast.

Two of us had a crepe for sweet which was like death by chocolate and far too sickly but we should have known better. The house white wine was fine but I wasn't sure about the house red
so opted for a slightly more expensive Pinot Noir to compliment the duck. I think it was about £18 and it was quite pleasant but it was a Languedoc vin de table (bottom of the scale) and really should have been a lot cheaper. I have lived in that area of France so know what it costs!

Overall a disappointing experience with slow service. Not going to hurry back but will keep an eye on the reviews as I would like them to succeed as no one else has in this venue for years!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ceres also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Ceres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Ceres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.