We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PORTER TO THE FORE.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York

The York
243-247 Fulwood Road, Sheffield, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #240 of 1,042 restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“PORTER TO THE FORE.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Frozen Sheffield. Finished Work. Needed Warming Up. Chicken Pie. With Yorkshire Pudding Piece on Top. Gravy Boat. Pot of Proper Mushy Peas. Plus Triple Cooked Chips. Smashing !. True North Brew Co. " First Porter ". 4 -3 abv. Finish of with Titanic " All Aboard ". 4-2 abv. Old Bar, dates back to the 1830,s. When it was a Blacksmith,s. Nice Courtesy Shown by Staff. Enjoyed the Porter Better, then the Titanic. Full. So cannot try a Sweet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    41
    30
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gone off the boil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

After moving to Sheffield a year ago, the York quickly turned into our new local, nice pub feel to it but without the terrible frozen food! Winner!
We ate here perhaps once a week for 6 months taking various members of our families along when they visited, in laws grandparents etc.... All was looking good!
Staff were professional but a little stern, but hey that's fine.
A year later and hundreds of pounds latee and the bar people still don't acknowledge you, now I'm not expecting a hug as a long lost friend but even a familiar hello would be nice,or you get now Is a sullen raise of the head from the self indulged 'supervisors' very sullen and take theirselves far too seriously!
Had a couple of issues with the food in the last that we're sorted - granted!
The burgers used to be die for, but I was left disappointed once again today, a £10 burger brought to me in a brown bread roll. Not even toasted or anything, now personally I think the whole gourmet burger is so overdone as everyone does it now but for a tanner it should be spot on! Served with handmade yet undercooked chips/wedges still hard in the middle and an attempt at a bit of salad.
Drinks took forever to arrive, but at least they arrived as previous visits our drinks order was taken and they never materialised!
Music too loud for a Sunday afternoon, my becks glass was filthy.
Got up to leave and said our goodbyes but fell on sullen ears!
Needs a proper manager in who has a personality, and the food and service need to be more consistent at this price!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pub, both for beer and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Top marks to The York. At very short notice they accommodated a party of 18 adults plus several kids on a busy sunday lunchtime. All the food arrived on time and cooked to perfection and the service was excellent despite the fact that the staff were clearly run off their feet. One small criticism of the otherwise delocious food is that it is very meat and potato orientated with no fresh veg or side salads included. This wouldn't stop me visiting again or recommending without hesitation.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hit and miss local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Has all the makings of a good boozer with decent food and have had some good meals here after work, but the food is a little run of the mill and service can really be hit and miss. Good selection of beers and some decent wine though and when it's busy it really does have a good buzz about it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK but variable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to this hotel/pub/restaurant for a family night out. It is in the mid-range pricing £25/hd for 3 course meal exc drinks) and has fish and chips or steak, standard English food. They burned my fish batter though and still sent it out. I wouldn't go again unless desperate. There are other better quality restaurants nearby. Student cocktail discounts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.