We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patoo

Patoo
607 - 609 Ecclesall Road, Sheffield S11 8PT, England
01142 668196
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #394 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The food in this restaurant has really only two taste levels, normal and the ones with the pepper against them "spicy", so if you don' t care for spicy ask for your meal toned down, or choose the food without the little pepper, meal for two no starter, but with a bottle of wine £40. The best meal i' ve had here is the duck of the chefs suggested meals, which had taste and was a good size portion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Three different mains all tasted the same !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well this was our first time here and after reading the reviews was looking forward to it. The stAters seemed mediocre and we're probably bought in frozen. The service wasn't good and the main meal me and my partner had a be it different name exactly the same ! The people on the next table had also ordered different meals but they were the same as ours how strange.... Atmosphere was a bit pretentious and really over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was our first visit to the Patoo Thai. It was early on a Wednesday evening in February and the restaurant was fairly quiet. The food and service were very good and the staff were friendly. We will definitely visit here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited Patoo Thai early on a Monday evening in Feb 2014. We have eaten there before and found the food and the service worth revisiting. My red curry was delicious and the coconut rice was a perfect accompaniment. The tables are well spaced so even if the restaurant was full it wouldn't feel crowded and service was attentive. I ate at the nearby Thai restaurant recently and was disappointed at the "Thai-ness" of the food so finding quality Thai food at Patoo was a relief.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Chaotic, Frantic Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Three of us dined here last Saturday evening. The place was full but we had a pleasant reserved table. The first thing we noticed that the guy "in charge" was rushing about like a whirling dervish and had such a strained look on his face that we thought he would have a heart attack at any moment. No one else took orders for food or drink and he rushed (ran) to do this at every table. Lots of staff about but they were having to look at table plans to see what food and drink went where - totally chaotic. Our drinks and starters came very quickly and were ok but then a long wait for the main courses, which were only average. We had more fun watching the chaotic service and total confusion with the head guy shouting and pointing at staff as to where to take food and drink and what tables to clear. Every time he came to our table, his tension and anguish was palpable. We didn't bother with dessert or coffee and were concerned at the accuracy of our bill, being charged for drinks we hadn't had. Given some staff training and good delegation, this restaurant would work well but oh dear, what a way to an early grave for the boss and a classic warning to anyone who thinks front of house control is easy! We didn't leave a tip!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patoo also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Patoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.