We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca - Sheffield - CLOSED

La Tasca - Sheffield
509 Ecclesall Road, Sheffield S11 8PR, England
0114 2666242
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $68
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant on Ecclesall Road is perfect for all occasions, from romantic dinner for two, to a full fiesta for you and your friends!Enjoy a range of Tapas from our award winning new menu, we cater for all tastes and have recently expanded our vegitarian and gluten free options!Ask us about our specials and wine recommendations to suit any budget.Book your table now! either go online, give us a call, or come in and chat to one of the managers who will be happy to deal with any requests you might havesee you soon!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely selection of tapas, great flavours, service very good. A really nice evening out ordering dishes as we were ready to eat a little bit more. Great ambience; looking forward to another visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    20
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a nice meal here recently. The restaurant itself if so hot (as in temperature) I thought I was going to pass out at one point. Still, better hot than cold. Food delivery was a little on the slow side. The food was nice, but nothing special, and didn't stay hot for very long. Other than that, nice ambiance and friendly staff. You will have a pleasant time if you dine her.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal with the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Where do I start with this one? It as to be one of the most enjoyable meals out EVER.
We took our daughter and nephew out for a treat. We had been to La Tasca in Meadowhall for breakfast and enjoyed it so much we wanted to give the tapas experience a go.
We were not disappointed.
We had a drink before we took our table and although it was over £20 for 2 alcoholic drinks and 2 soft drinks, they were hand poured as they would be in Spain and were just yummy.
We took our table and as my husband has a shellfish allergy he was thinking it would be next to impossible to find something he could eat. WRONG.
We started with a sharing plate of meats and cheese and olives and bread and a sharing flat bread. For mains he went for the Paella Carne. And me and the kids had 5 or 6 tapas dishes between us, The albongidas (meatballs) were fab as were the deep fried chicken balls. Everything was hot and cooked really well..
We had 2 sharing desserts the kids had churros (doughtnuts) and chocolate sauce with strawberries and we had the adult version with brownies and pancakes and cheesecakes pieces, Although my husband was a bit disappointed that the cheesecake seemed to be left off the plate.
I have churros in Spain when we go and they are never as good the ones we had at La Tasca.
Service was spot on too. We were served by Eszther. she explained what things were on the menu for the kids and was very attentive when needed and quietly slipped away when not needed.
Thoroughly enjoyed everything about this restaurant and definitely will be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time and was a good experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A large group of us booked a table and some had been before but this was my first time eating at this restaurant and eating Spanish food/tapas. I thought the food was amazing and great value, the only criticism being I would have expected slightly more of it. The staff all had great service skills however the orders did get slightly mixed up, which I think is inevitable with a big group, but the food that was incorrect was left with us anyway free of charge to make up for this and a small delay in the correct food. Another thing to mention is the wine was possibly the best wine I've ever tasted, I can't wait to go again and work my way through the rest of both the food and drinks menus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Need more education regarding gluten free and vegetarian options!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Had my hen night meal here on Saturday. Lovely atmosphere and the staff were great however, your chef needs education as to the dangers of cross contamination with gluten free cooking. If you fry your potatoes in the same oil as that which is used to fry battered fish, for example, there will be cross contamination! Also, you cannot identify your potatoes as being vegetarian for the very same reason. We spent a lot of time trying to find a restaurant to cater for one of our party who is celiac but unfortunately they were quite ill after their meal. A vegetarian in our party was also disappointed to find that after paying £20 all that was suitable to eat was the salad-however the very nice waitress did talk to the chef and some other choices were brought out for her. The service was also quite chaotic and some people received items which they hadn't ordered. One good thing is that they did extend happy hour for us which was nice. An alright experience but not really worth the £400 we paid

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca - Sheffield also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca - Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.