We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Street, Theatreland, Sheffield S1 2PF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel and parking wasn't exactly brilliantly signed posted or told about so called the hotel to ask were to park were they told us it was at the car park opposite the side of the hotel and was 6.50 for our whole stay, (to which when we left it wad more like 18pound) not great communication there, finally got into the hotel and the outside wasn't at all wat I was expecting I was quite disappointed as had booked this for my fiances birthday, got welcomed at reception by a gentleman who was friendly enough, but all the information we had was the room number 207 and were breakfast was oh and the WiFi. We didn't get told were our room was and then he proceeded to answer the phone to which I had to interrupt to find were we was, didn't get asked for any help with luggage and both my partner abd I had quite a lot and had to struggle, the room I paid for an upgrade and had informed them it was my partners birthday so I dis expect the extra mile but jo nothing just beers that I had paid extra for, slightly disapponted, the room was standard really, no views, other then a building opposite, and workman that started as early as 8am (so no lie in) bathroom was nice and big and looked very clean, although the soap in the shower was half used! Everybody we came across seemed friendly enough, and the young girl who was on the bar ob weds evening was lovely, told us were to go wat was there and everything superb cant speak highly enough of her! Credit to the hotel. Drinks very over priced though, we didn't actually have dinner at the hotel, but had breakfast which I was VERY disappointed with, seemed to be no proper system when arriving in the restaurant (bar area) and we was very confused about this when we was seated we never got told wether to help ourselves between two of us we were given two slices of toast, and the full English side of things was VERY disappointing again as no fried egg, toast, tomatoes or anything, the next morning we ordered breakfast in bed which has no hot option available??? We order danish pastries which we never received, no sugar on tray, no milk was a disaster as we had cereal, never made a complaint as did get a deal for this hotel, ob leaving we werent given any personally treatment (they were aware it was my partners birthday) never wished him a nice birthday ob check in either, location was great though as was 5mins walk to town and trams, no restaurants that we could see other then a wetherapoons type of pub, but over all the hotel was ok I would stay again if was visiting Sheffield abd get another good deal like I did, I wouldn't pay going rate at all for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your your review.

I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I have read and noted your comments and I am currently addressing all the issues.
Thank you once again for your time, and I do hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves in the future.
Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    67
    32
    29
See reviews for
25
78
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed on a friday night with friends on a night out. Got a great room rate from booking.com.
The check in staff were friendly, although the lift was broken I got an email in advance advisign of this and they offered to carry my luggage.
The hotel location was ideal for Sheffield nightlife. The car park wasn't far and resonably priced. Room clean, bed comforatble and breakfast was ok. Good hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a good stay.

Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location very friendly staff lovely hotel.parked car in the ncp car park for 2 days cost only £13 which was really good and is only 2mins away from the hotel. shops and bars only mins away would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a good stay.

Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good location, very clean, spacious room. Istayed here with 2 of my friends for a girly weekend, we were on the 4th floor, big room with 2 single beds and a kingsize. spacious bathroom, tea & coffee making facilites. this hoel is around a 5 min walk to the main bars, and even closer for shopping. didnt eat here so cant comment on the restaurant. the only niggle i had was getting stuck in the lift, but they soon got us out!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry to read you had an issue with the lift.

I hope we will see you again soon
Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The room was lovely, I would recommend, if you wanted to visit Sheffield for a night out, its so local, but you do need to find out where car parks are, because this hotel is down a little side street, there is parking in the Crucible Theatre, but I would check out your parking before you stayed, the drop off is quite tight, cant fault the value of the room, lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for the review, I am happy you had a good experience.

Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in this hotel for three days and booked two executive rooms. The room was so small u could only just get round the bed, the bathroom was that small that the sink was located inside the main body of the room, like a hostel. The showering facilities were a joke. No water pressure at all and the cubicle was that small you couldn't even turn around in it. We informed the hotel who said this is normal and were not helpful.

Friends of ours were in a room opposite and had a bath that produced yellow water. And they had a building yard below that works 7 days a week starting at 7 am.

The bar located inside the hotel was as good as the rooms. They did not have any beer and what beer they did have was off. The bar is the restaurant and breakfast room. This is fine if you want to watch football with 20 blokes screaming while you are trying to eat your dinner.

The hotel lift was another great feature of the hotel, it doesn't go to the ground floor without you having to force the doors open with your hands and letting them close again. Then it will restart. Thats if you are lucky i got stuck in them twice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review. I am very sorry that you experienced issues and that your stay did not meet with expectations. Please be assured that we take all complaints very seriously and act upon them to ensure there is not a reoccurance.
Regards
Yvonne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this through a KGB deal. Our room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. The receptionist was friendly and checking in went well. We had a bottle of bubbly with the deal which we had in the bar. Again the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable, good choice, staff again nice. The location is excellent. No view from the window due to being in the middle of town. But wouldn't have expected any different. We would use this hotel again if stopping in Sheffield.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandeep S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for you review. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again.
Regards
Yvonne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel

Address: George Street, Theatreland, Sheffield S1 2PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Cutlers Hotel Sheffield.Located in the heart of Sheffield City Centre, within easy walking distance of Sheffield's award winning theatres, The Crucible and The Lyceum & major transport links. Our 45-bedroom establishment offers the ultimate in contemporary comfort coupled with real value for money. Our aim is to provide our guests with a personalised experience that is second to none.We are able to offer our guests 24hours FREE Parking at the NCP Arundel Gate car park( Only 70 yard away from the hotel) when booked directly with us. Enjoy Free Wi-Fi in all our bedrooms and public areas. FREE Wi-Fi'Deliciously Yorkshire' Breakfast. Introducing a completely new concept to the Sheffield curry scene. Located in the Heart Of Sheffield City Centre we welcome you to come in and experience both our authentic Indian and classic English dishes served with a hint of eastern flavour in our very own Jaipur Arms. Also new themed restaurant on site "Steel City Dhaba" will endeavour to revive the rich culinary history of the Kingdom of Punjab. Great Location! Great Food! Great People! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutlers Hotel Sheffield
Best Western Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cutlers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.