We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Mustard Pot

Ye Olde Mustard Pot
Mortimer Road, | Midhopestones,, Sheffield S36 4GW, England
+44 1226 761155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 1,080 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Also B & B available
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely friendly place with a nice average priced menu. Only thing I would say is that the drinks are very overpriced making a meal expensive. Also been a Lot now and as it has traditional fires the place does feel cold in winter. Try pie night its a must and worth every penny at 4.95 . We will try steak night next.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    28
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice lunchtime treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The pub itself is very old fashioned in its appearance, stone floors etc, which is completely in keeping with its locations.

We popped in for lunch, the food was very good, well cooked and nicely presented. We would go again, more pricey than others but the extra quality makes it worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You have to try Pie Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited ye olde mustard pot on Tuesday evening for the first time in about two years. Thought we would give pie night a go. We were not disappointed!!

For £4.95 we were offered a choice of three home made pies - cheese and onion, turkey and mushroom or meat and potato. My husband and I decided on meat and potato which arrived with home made chips, garden peas and gravy. Everything was cooked to perfection. Homemade pastry top with plenty of beef filling.

We were so impressed we decided to return on Thursday to try their steak night special!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The sad decline of a once decent pub restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been calling here for about 8 or 9 years or so. It was once a highlight of a trip between Sheffield and Manchester. Not any more. Over the last 18 months or so it has gone downhill steadily. The once interesting and varied menu has been cut to a small handful of bog standard items. Gone is the curry or the seafood- replaced by cheeseburger! The food is badly prepared or reheated. My chips were older than my mother, the lasagne was appalling, the veg clearly came from one of those carvery things that cook stuff for ages and ages ( and which I thought had gone in the 80's). To me this place looks to be in the sort of spiral of decline where a reduction in customers leads to cost cutting on menu choices and cost of food prerparation which means less customers and further trimming. Unless the owners turn it around I guess it is likely to change hands in a year or so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The only local pub food we could find on Sunday evening after 6 pm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really nice wholesome and well prepared food on Sunday evening, after all the other local carveries had finished at around 6 pm. We had to pick from the menu, but no issue there. There was plenty of food and the quality was really nice. Quiet atmosphere. As the evening went on.
Great.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Mustard Pot also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Langsett, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Mustard Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Mustard Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.