We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early morning wake up by Housekeeping!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sheffield to your Saves list
Hilton Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Quays | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Early morning wake up by Housekeeping!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for my husband and I and another for our teenage children using my Hilton rewards points as a base for a family trip and visit to Meadowhall. We were only able to reserve double rooms so on check-in we requested one was changed to a twin. Reception was very helpful and managed to find a couple of rooms on the same floor. However due to this change I don't think housekeeping were updated as they entered the kids room at 9:30 the next morning while they were still asleep - they were rather startled by this unexpected intrusion. Check out was not until 12:00 and I was rather disappointed by this as this was the first time they had stayed by themselves. I will be reminding them again to lock the door.
Other than that the rooms were nice ( inc chocs and wine :) in ours) and the evening meal pleasant. We did not stay for breakfast as £40 for a family of four is just too much these days.
The kids did enjoy the ability to have unlimited hot showers without the hot water running out!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was glad to read that Reception were able to allocate the rooms that you had requested however I am sorry that the Housekeeping team entered your Children’s room causing them to be concerned. As discussed in an email that I have also sent direct to you this is not our usual process and the Head Housekeeper is investigating why this happened. An additional bolt and do not disturb signs can be used to stop the Housekeeping department from entering any room.

Your great feedback regarding the rest of your stay has also been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    280
    174
    79
    42
See reviews for
161
265
42
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love this hotel, it is part of the Hilton brand and so I get my HHonors benefits. They are really friendly and the rates are cheap. Perhaps not the most central but the location is okay and really quiet rooms.

Love it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on this website.

I was glad to read that you always enjoy your Hilton Hhonors benefits and find the staff members really friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed as a party of 15 for my friends hen do and really enjoyed our stay. We had ease booking/liaising with hotel to ensure we had the right rooms and payment was made etc. They had upgraded the bride to be to a duluxe room qirh view of the quayside and balcony plus wine and snacks and balloons, all feee of charge. Rooms were clean, modern and staff were happy to help with any request, including opening the bar for hot chocolate after our night out. As you can tell, we werent drunk and rolling home at the wee hrs of the morning but unfortunately both fri and Saturday night there were other guests keeping us awake until 3am playing music and making lots of noise. The pool was lovely and even though there wasnt availability at the spa we enjoyed the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and pool for the afternoon. Breakfast was a highlight, buffet style with so much choice. We had snacks in the bar and room service-both were fine. I would like to thank the hotel for a great weekend and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay for your friend’s Hen Do.

It was such a pleasure to read that the booking process was of ease and you enjoyed the rooms plus extras for your celebrations.

Your great feedback regarding attentive staff and breakfast has also been noted and shared with the team.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a future occasion.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just arrived back from the Hilton, Sheffield. Hotel is easy to find and is in a lovely location for the city.Has ample parking. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We had a beautiful large room overlooking the canal. Very clean with a large bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, everything you could ever want again with helpful staff. Would definately stay again. Did not get a chance to use pool but I am sure it wold have been worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Sheffield.

I was delighted to read that you found the location ideal and the staff members friendly. Your great feedback regarding breakfast and bedrooms have also been noted and shared with both departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Unfortunately we needed to be in Sheffield on my daughters 18th for a uni visit the next day. Advised the hotel of this when we booked to ensure we had nice rooms together overlooking Quays.
Rooms were overlooking Quays but disappointing, tired decor, ours stank of cleaning fluid, daughters did not, opened window to get rid of smell and room never warmed up after that but it was preferable to the smell.
Glad I hadn't told my daughter they were going to "arrange some little extras" for her as there was nothing.
Having stayed before we were looking forward to the pool but being half term it was swamped with kids, no room for swimming or sauna and everything was also tired.
Stayed in to eat, wish we had gone out. Staff were trying their best to avoid customers trying to get their attention. Table behind us were complaining when we arrived and we soon had reason to complain ourselves. Two rare steaks arrived well done and dry, no one came to ask if everything was OK and no one was around to speak to so didn't make a fuss just ate, had it of been my daughters meal I would have complained rather than eaten it. We did say something when our plates were collected but by the reaction of "please have a dessert free but not the platter, you can have this at 50% discount" it is obviously a common problem and that is the standard reply.
My daughter fancied a cocktail for her birthday so she was going through the list with a barman the other barman came along and quite rudely said he needed the list because he had orders, as she was rushed she ended up with something that she didn't really want which was a shame.

Breakfast was the best part of the stay but goodness knows how many plates I went through to find a clean one, how hard is it to check white plates to see if they are dirty before putting out for guests, could try cleaning the filter on the dishwasher.

And finally the bill, we had booked dinner, bed & breakfast and the room rate and description was clearly printed on the bill so I can only assume bills are not looked at before handing out as our bill had dinner added on again so they were expecting another £130 and wondered why we were not keen on paying.
Overpriced food and rooms, hope my daughter chooses another university or we will need to find an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

I am sorry that you found the rooms in need of decor and also for the strong smell that you experienced. We are always trying to improve the standards of our bedrooms and your comments regarding the smell has been passed onto the Head Housekeeper.

After checking both reservations unfortunately we were unaware that it was your Daughter’s 18th. I am unsure why we did not receive this information and we would of course have endeavoured to arrange something for your Daughter if we had been made aware.

Your comments regarding your meal and service in the Restaurant have also been noted and I would like to apologise for your evening being marred in such a way. Your comments have been discussed with both the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager together with your feedback regarding the service that you received from the Bar. This is not the usual level of service that we provide and re training will be implemented within both departments.

In addition there is no excuse for the plates to be dirty at breakfast and also for your bill being incorrect. Both shortfalls have been addressed with both department managers.

Once again my sincere apologies and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very friendly staff. Spacious room and bathroom. Comfortable beds. Great breakfast buffet. Great pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna area. A 10 or 15 minute walk into town depending how fast you walk.
A little more expensive than other nearby hotels but worth the extra money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girvan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

You think "Hilton" you think quality, wrong, this was a second rate hotel which should have charged second rate ......rates! The room was small and pokey, the carpet was disgusting, the bathroom was grotty, needed re - sealing every where!
Yes the Breakfast was fabulous, so why let them selves down else ware, they had the floor up in the entrance when we went which caused havoc for a wheelchair customer, who couldn't get out, the adhesive they were using was left for several hours with the lid off so the whole place stunk to high heaven, i think that was the only reason the staff were smiling. We went out in to the city centre and the glue was still sat in the same place when we came back, so no exaggeration there truly! We had gone to see Nickle back & Dautry in concert the night before, and saw them leave the Hotel to go to the venue, how disappointing for them, as they were on the same level as us, and the room service staff couldn't stop giving details about them, so no privacy or hiding which room they were in then......i'm sure the Hotel promotes that?
I have stayed at several other Hilton hotels, this was the worst so far, try the cheaper option

Room Tip: No comment just go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in September 2012.

Your comment regarding the size of the bedroom has been taken on board and I am sorry that you found this too small. Cleanliness of the room however should be of a high standard and I am sorry that on this occasion this fell below your expectations ; your comments have been discussed with the Head Housekeeper.

I would also like to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the floor in our lobby area being varnished. I do understand that there may have been a strong smell from the varnish but I can assure you that at no point was the floor raised.

The confidentially of all our guests is paramount and we will never disclose guest information. Re training will take place with all staff members regarding the importance of this.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.