We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive with a cold breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chesterfield Rd S, Sheffield S8 8BW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive with a cold breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

At £95 b+b I thought this hotel was quite expensive.However when I opted for breakfast in the room at a tray charge of £6 I thought I would just enjoy the stay.When the breakfast turned up It was not even warm.I complained to reception at checkout and told them I would not pay the tray charge.But I did think they would remove the overall breakfast charge.this did not happen.As a business traveller I would never stay at this hotel again due to the high cost and poor food quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that on this occasion you had reason to comment and at this late stage can only offer you my most sincere apologies. There are no excuses for the lapse in standards you experienced with your room service breakfast and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused as a result. I would like to rectify this situation by way of a gesture of goodwill and hope you will contact me direct. The Hotel does apply a tray charge for room service orders and for breakfast this is £3 per room so it equally appears an error has been made. I apologise that our team did not take the opportunity to rectify this situation when mentioned on check out. I believe your experience to be most untypical for our usual high standards of service and hope that you perhaps would stay with us again in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    354
    95
    42
    19
See reviews for
154
466
30
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Booked the hotel direct from its own website and it was very resonably priced. Disappointed on arrival as we had booked a double room and got twin room instead. Cushions in room were grubby but the rest of it was nice and clean.
Breakfast was good and they do Quorn sausages, so not too bad for vegetarians.
Fan or lift or something made a weird humming noise for a while late in the evening - irritating.
Free access to jacuzzi and swimming pool was great although on the Sat morning half the swimming pool was taken up by children having swimming lessons, bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am genuinely sorry to hear that despite booking a double room this room type was not allocated to you on arrival. I have noted your comment regarding the cushions and have already spoken to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is addressed. I am unsure as to what the humming noise could have been and appreciate it if you could let me know, by email, the room number thus allowing us to investigate the matter, With regards to our swimming pool it appears that the youngsters had fun learning and on this occasion were a bit loud! Please accept my apologies for this. On the whole though I am pleased you found your stay to be good value for money and that you would recommend our Hotel to friends. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend for a restful weekend prior to starting a busy week of night shift. Unfortunately found it impossible to sleep due to some noise in/in the vacinity of the room which sounded like a fan or a boiler and which went on all night long. Instead of coming home well rested I am exhausted. Receptionist seemed disbelieving when I informed her of the problem I had experienced.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Many thanks for reviewing our Hotel following your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that you had problems sleeping and at this late stage can only offer you my most sincere apologies. I am keen to establish the exact cause of the problem and hope you will contact me with specific details such as the room in question allowing us to investigate the matter and take corrective action. I am uncertain as to whether you mentioned and highlighted the problem during your stay as this would have allowed the Hotel an opportunity to move you to an alternative room. Whilst not ideal it would at the least you a comfortable second night. I look forward to hearing from you and can assure you that the Hotel will go some way in restoring your faith.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

19 of us for 60ish to 2 yrs old. Rooms very comfortable. Evening meal and service excellent. Leisure centre small but very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am pleased you found our Hotel to be providing excellent facilities at a reasoanble price and that you would recommend our Hotel to others. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed for business when the Copthorne was full, the rooms were ok , although bathroom tiny with a fan that ran ALL NIGHT. Bed was 2 pushed together with a gap so uncomfortable, tv useless no satellite and bad reception. Breakfast "ok" although not hot and we had to wait for coffee, waitress pleasant but smelt heavily of garlic which was rather offputting.Staff were insulting to my husband when he walked our dogs in the grounds( we had asked if it was ok to do so).Said "Do you know this is a 4 star hotel" felt like replying " No we thought it was 0 star if you are anything to go by!" but of course we were too polite to do so. Amazingly the internet was switched off at 8pm !!After that it was charged for .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for also reviewing our Hotel after having reviewed two other Sheffield hotels over the past twelve months. I am sorry to hear that, despite being a loyal guest, your usual Hotel could not accommodate your booking. I am pleased that our Hotel had the opportunity to welcome you and provide accommodation for you in these circumstances. I am genuinely sorry you had reason to comment and found your stay to be unsatisfactory. It appears our Hotel had some benefits though over the two other Hotels you have reviewed by way of having heating, by way of having easy access to and from the car park, by way of having no exceptions with our reception staff, by way of having a gym that is open and fantastic, by way of not having squeaky manholes outside and finally by way of having easy to operate air conditioning controls. I appreciate and have noted your other comments and will address these and am sorry for any inconvenience caused as a result. I would like to clarify that internet access is free between 8am and 8pm as advertised within our hotel and on our literature and does not get turned off and is available for use by business and leisure guests alike seven days a week. Our Hotel, like most other Hotels, does not allow dogs on the premises (other than guide dogs). I am sorry that this left you with no choice but to leave your dog in the car and hope that the booking agent at Superbreaks made you aware of our policy before making a booking for you. Naturally, the Hotel would have welcomed an opportunity to rectify things at the time but at this late stage I can only offer you my most sincere apologies.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

stayed here. as had an appt at a nearby hosp. traveled from kent so was tired when we arrived. no fussy parking, good bar service. their was a funeral party going on , but was still greeted wiyh a smile. bar served excellent coffee. and was comfortable. aftere re turning from my appt. we had evening meal. very nice and reasonable. then sat in bar for an hr. the rooms were very clean . and modern. wished i.d brought my laptop.. went to bed around 10pm. with all intentoins of going for a swim befor breakfast in the spa. didnt achieve that as we didnt wake up til 9.30 and that was my daughter ringing my mobile. . couldnt believe i.d slept that long. fantastic nights sleep. and im an insomniac. rushed down to breakfast. and was amazed at the variety and quality. and again the friendly service. will with out any dout use this hotel again. and highly recommended. thank you s.p,h,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time with us and that, following your experience, you would stay with us again and would recommend our Hotel to friends. Comments such as yours are a great source of motivation to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The Sheffield Park Hotel exceeded expectations. We had booked in for just one night - a Saturday - on a package that seemed a good deal, and purely on value the place cannot be faulted. A really nice room - comfortable and quite stylish; a generous dinner offer as part of the package; a good night's sleep; and an ample breakfast. We could have used the pool but opted to go into the city instead. The whole hotel is of a very good standard. What set it apart, though, was the feel-good atmosphere that seems to be a product of really nice staff and a lot of happy customers. The staff came across as genuinely attentive and caring, which makes guests feel welcome and at home. The hotel must be doing something right as it was surprisingly busy and the restaurant was certainly buzzing. That's not to say that everything was perfect in efficiency terms (in the evening, the waiting team in the restaurant seemed to be balanced at times on the edge of dis-organisation) but that was actually rather entertaining. The food was good, too. The fact that at breakfast one of the staff in the servery asked my wife and a total stranger (who just happened to be next in line for the eggs) if "they'd had a good night" just added to the general merriment. This hotel really deserves to do well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheffieldParkHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Sheffield Park Hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay on one of our packages on offer, all of which indeed represent outstanding value for money! I have noted your comment regarding the efficiency in our Restaurant and will address this. I was pleased that you viewed your experience as a whole and that on the whole you had a great time and experienced the genuine approach and warmth of our staff. We do want to do well and do hope you will come back to our Hotel in the future.

Ivar van Diepen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Address: Chesterfield Rd S, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.