We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, not the best Hilton I've stayed in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chesterfield Rd S, Sheffield S8 8BW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 25% off
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, not the best Hilton I've stayed in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my husband in January.

The public areas downstairs were nicely decorated, particularly the main restaurant. The bedrooms were ok, clean at least although a little tired looking - I've stayed in much nicer Doubletree properties for a similar price. However that said I think this hotel was excellent value.

Although our room was on a higher floor we did find it a little noisy, both from the road and what appeared to be delivery taking place outside our window early on a Saturday morning (it may not have been a delivery, but sounded like something being moved using a squeaky metal trolley!)

Facilities wise the gym was well equipped and the pool nice, although if I'd visited for a spa day I would be a little disappointed as it wasn't particularly luxurious/relaxing in decor.

The location was good, easy to find, close to the Peak District and the antiques quarter which we visited during our stay.

The food in the restaurant was good, if expensive. We also had breakfast which we enjoyed (it was included in our room package as gold card members.) We ordered room service however and really did not enjoy it - the nachos somehow managed to be cold yet burnt at the same time. To give the hotel credit we gave them feedback in passing and they took it off our bill without us even having to ask - I thought this was really good customer service.

Following on from this all of the staff we encountered were lovely, very friendly, accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the property, you might avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear AW1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Should you have any plans to revisit the area, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that we can offer you a really great deal.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    383
    111
    47
    19
See reviews for
171
488
35
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed 1 night and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. The entire hotel and rooms looked recently refurbished and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The only problem I had was with the free wi-fi, which didn't work well in my room due to a very poor signal strength. However, it was fine in the extremely comfortable lobby so that wasn't a major issue. The hotel is around a 20-30 minute drive from Sheffield city centre and was pleasantly/quietly located. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return again. Probably would have given a 5 rating if the wi-fi had worked as advertised.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear The TravellingSheep,

Thank you for a great review.

I was sorry to see that you experienced problems with our WiFi signal, however I am really pleased to see you found the hotel stay a pleasant experience and that the lobby area was comfortable.

I do hope you will stay with us again.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Could not fault the hotel. almost excellent in all respects. The hotel is well located near to Sheffield city centre, and Meadowhall shopping mall. It is easily accessible for the Peak District of Derbyshire - an area of outstanding beauty (although visitors should check that venues are open as some are seasonal). The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff are friendly and efficient. The food was very good and the rooms were comfortable and clean with free wifi. All in all a very good experience all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear J7060STmichaell,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to pass on your words on praise to our teams.

As I am sure you will agree there is so much to do and see in the area that perhaps a second trip is required? Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly to see what fantastic deals we have on offer.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent and friendly service from all staff in particular the new barman who helped us to get breakfast after 11am and for us to have access to spa after checking out.
Rooms nice with huge TV and really good shower.
Really disappointed by the breakfast-self service for both continental and cooked at ten quid each (not pre-booked). Would really expect table service for this price. The bacon was stone cold, rolls stale, there were no eggs left and by the time they were ready had lost the will!
Spa facilities were nice, lovely jacuzzi and sauna.
Not sure if would go again simply as did not feel the value for money was there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear fabbymolly,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was sorry to see you were disappointed by our breakfast. I have passed on your feedback to our Food and Beverage teams for future.

With warm regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

in summary: stayed in this hotel for almost a year... great price and great benefits as hilton member... the hotel is equipped with everything you have on your mind... Moreover, the staff is very friendly whether receptionists or cleaning staff, or even the reservation people.. i guess that is the best hotel in the area... would definitely recommend you not to hesitate if you stumbled upon this hotel during your research... (take it from a guy who has been travelling all over europes on business for the past two years...)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Tarek E,
Thank you for such a glowing review! I'm so glad you enjoy your stays with us, our teams are always really pleased to see you when you return.

We look forward to welcoming you for many more months to come.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely as are the rooms. We stayed on the first floor in a double room (2 twins pushed together) which was clean, peaceful and well equipped.

The pool area was clean and well maintained although the floor in the changing rooms was very wet and needed to have towlels on the floor.

We decided to eat out on the night time as the menu displayed outside of the restaurant was very limited. We decided to go to 'Kashmiri Aroma' which was lovely and would recommend to anyone.

On arrival back to the hotel the 'secure car park' had the barriers open as it did all throughout our stay. The restaurant had more staff than customers which is never a good sign. We then decided to go to the bar which was very busy however the staff worked very hard to keep everybody happy. Drinks are expensive but it is a hotel after all.

However the next morning breakfast was very disappointing, with once again more staff than customers. We never got a good morning or asked if we would like tea or coffee. Instead staff cleaned the table next to us completely oblivious that we were sitting there. The buffet style breakfast was average with bacon and sausage hardly cooked at all.

Overall a very enjoyable stay which is slightly let down by the restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear marc m,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There are several very helpful points here that we can use to improve our services. I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Team regarding the breakfast and staffing levels.

With kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stay at this hotel about 3 times a year when visiting family and always look forward to it. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and the staff always extremely helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant this time as we usually do but room service was very efficient and the food of a good standard. Will definitely be back in a few months.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear TC_82_12,
Thank you for your review. We love to welcome back returning guests as familiar faces are always nice to see.
For your next stay why not enquire about our dinner offers - our new A La Carte Menu has just been launched which has some really exciting dishes.
With warm regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Address: Chesterfield Rd S, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.