We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellnt stay for a bargain price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sheffield Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sheffield Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Sheffield Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellnt stay for a bargain price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I have stayed at the Novotel several times and it is always my first choice for a city centre hotel in Sheffield.

It's location is fab although there is a little building work going on at the moment and so although it was quiet at the weekend, it wasn't the case at the weekend. However, the building work is simply part of the work going on to make the city centre even more attractive. The Winter Gardens are on the doorsteps and the Peace Gardens are a beautiful place to chill out in the sun.

Staff are very friendly and the room was very clean, particularly the bathroom. Hairdryer was a proper hairdryer!!!

Bar was relaxed and again staff were very friendly. Check in and out were very straightforward and I will certainly be back at the Novotel again when I visit Sheffield.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    301
    153
    63
    38
See reviews for
168
231
70
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Pretty much what you would expect from Novotel, the hotel is good but not outstanding in any way. The room was very clean and comfortable. The room didnt have a bath, instead it had a large shower cubicle.

The breakfast buffet is excellent with plenty of choice.

The staff were friendly and attentive and I didnt find anything in particular to fault.

Woould be nice if the hotel offered free wifi (£5.99/hour or £11.99/24 hrs) and freesat television.

Stayed in the Best Western Cutlers Hotel the previous week for pretty much the same money. While the Cutlers offers free internet the Novotel beats it hands down.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Stayed for two nights. Swift Check in and found I was opposite noise from building works, rang reception and was moved with minimum fuss and help offered.
Bed
I found was really comfortable and had a good nights sleep.
Pillows nice and plump.
Tea/ Coffe etc and modern not to distant refurb, so everthing nice. Bathroom adequate and white fluffy towels.
Overall staff attentive. Really good breakfast both mornings with reasonable service and hot plate kept full even at really busy 'rush hour' time.
I found this hotel more than comfortable with a few places to eat nearby, not bad at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst attending a conference (also in the hotel). I know Sheffield reasonably well and the location is perfect for the city center. Parking is available for £7/day.

I ate at the hotel restaurant with Colleagues for the first evening. The meals were expensive and not of a good quality. Service was adequate.

The room itself was reasonable. It overlooked a construction site which was not a problem unless a window was opened.

The swimming pool is very small (too small to swim in).

I do not believe the hotel was worth the cost. Neighbouring hotels are of a better quality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

we stayed at this hotel four days over the christmas period it was a special offer so was realy good value the rooms were clean & well equiped the service was good the staff polite and helpfull nothing to mutch trouble the location is good handy for anything in town centre, very satisfactory all round

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

had to change rooms 3 times 1st t v broke then secound room heating didnt work we rang for more bedding which came and was stained then because the hotel was full they had to send a heater next day we moved again the bath had hairs left in the bath the rooms had cheap foam beds and cheap pillows and dirty carpetsyou can only get one menu in the hole hotel even the room service is the same food the hotel is 3 star and thats only because in is in the city center ive stayed in better premire lodges we would have moved after the first day but it had been paid for in advance

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

So easy to get to after a long train trip! The Novotel is a short walk from the main station, When you arrive the lobby and bar area are upstairs. They are clean and bright. Service was quick on checkin, slightly less so on checkout. My room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. It was clean and spacious and had some style to it. I had a drink at the bar, and breakfast in my room was on time. Toast a bit cold, but I like it that way. Ihave no idea why this hotel only gets the 3 and a half overall. It was just what you want for a business meeting in central Sheffield. I would certainly return if I got a good rate as I did!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#18 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use of a health club nearby. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sheffield Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.