We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sheffield Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sheffield Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Sheffield Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Snaith
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was ideally located for the centre. Reception staff very friendly on arrival, asked if we required a room with bath or shower. We had booked an executive room at a great price of £74, breakfast included. Room was a good size, with plenty of facilities. Car park very handy and excellent value at £10 for 24 hours. Excellent choice for breakfast, however plates could of been warmer but all staff very helpful and courteous. We will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lunn2013,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to see you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with your Executive Room package. We will look into the warmth of the plates at breakfast and I hope your next stay is as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    343
    168
    68
    40
See reviews for
190
269
72
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed for one night and the room was a good size with a settee and desk, reasonable sized bathroom and separate toilet. There was also an iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool looked quite small as was the car park. There was limited parking and £10 is expensive. There are cheaper public car parks nearby. However, this is a nice hotel very close to all city centre amenities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lease J,

Very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Sheffield Centre and found it good value. Hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location right in the city centre. There is a Sainsburys next door and a cash point. Its opposite the uni and close to the train station.
Parking is available for £10 - worth noting that the car park in the hotel isnt that big, when we arrived it was full. However after speaking to reception they gave us a discount ticket to use in the car park next door but one to get parking there for £10.
Reception staff were very helpful, booking us taxi's and sorting out extra bedding that we needed.
For the price definately a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Nottsgirl87,

Thank you for your review. It's nice to see you found the team helpful - especially with organising alternative car-parking arrangements for you. I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

stayed one nght sat 28sep13. booked up after browsing reviews. Superior double room with breakfast -£99. Got a good train deal/rtn from Loughborough. Hotel 2mins from station and university. Got there and was checked in by 10.30am. BONUS ! Room was fine, breakfast great. Hotel situated in a great location for eating out, pubs etc. We went for a concert at the arena. Tram station is at the cathedral - 5mins walk -7mins if dragging ur heels !
Would stay here again. Read how parking maybe a problem, so use the train.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear TB16,

Very pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and that the team made your arrival hassle-free.

Hope you had a safe trip back to Loughborough and we do hope to see you back again at the Novotel Sheffield Centre.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Sheffield from the 17th-20th September 2013 whilst on business. The hotel is conveniently situated in the city centre, amidst all the amenities the city has to offer. The train station and Sheffield Hallam University is a short walk away, and the rear access of the hotel leads you to the Crucible and Lyceum theatres.

The rooms are perfect for short stays and have satellite TV, complimentary WI-FI, tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, hairdryer, an iron and ironing board, and a safe deposit box free of charge. The hotel also has a small heated indoor pool and several meeting rooms that can hold up to 220 guests.

The restaurant had a wide and varied menu and was of an excellent standard each day I dined there, and the bar also had a good selection of drinks with the lounge area spacious and comfortable.

All members of staff were well mannered and polite, showed great hospitality skills and made my short stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TonyEntwistle,

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel in Sheffield.

Kind regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, very clean, super modern and right in the city centre.
We booked here to see a show at the arena, however it was too far away really (own fault) it's 3 miles from the arena and you can't walk as it's too dodgy, I would recommend the hotels next door to the arena travel lodge or Ibiz budget hotel.
Novotel great for a day and night out in sheffield.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear gladwinwales,

Thank you for posting a review for the Novotel Sheffield Centre. We are very pleased you liked the hotel. Perhaps we will welcome you back again if you are coming to the City Centre or one of the events closer to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

As the title says, the location of the hotel is good and it is easy to get to from the station. My room was a little tired with splashes of something on the wall and a carpet which was past its best. I found the bed to be quite uncomfortable and a little low to the ground. Breakfast was fine, I booked before 8pm the previous day, so got it at a reduced rate of £8. I dont think I would have bothered paying the full rate (which I think was £13) as there are a number of cafes nearby where I could have eaten for less. The staff I came across were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Happygirl84_10,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Glad you to see you were pleased witht the staff. I will look into the other observations you made and please rest assured we will address them.

Hope we will be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kai Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use of a health club nearby. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sheffield Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.