We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got worse each time i have been... wont return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of London Club

London Club
Surrey Street, Sheffield S1 2LG, England
0114 2700655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #640 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Got worse each time i have been... wont return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been to the London Club 6 or 7 times, for special occasions with family, with my girlfriend and even with the lads before a night out. The first 3 or 4 times i was raving about this place. Great food (steaks) served in a modern quirky way, right up my street.. but then it seemed to starting dipping a little. The menu prices creeping up, less on a plate for your money, less quality in flavour and taste. Items not on the menu that we had previously loved. The last time i went was January 2012 for my birthday. We have ummmed and arrrrghed about going just because of the last couple of times we had been and it not been up to scratch... but i was hoping we would get the service and meal of my first 3 or 4 times and give it one more shot...... NEVER AGAIN!!!! we arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night and there were only 2 tables occupied in the entire restaurant (not a good sign for a saturday night).. we were shown to our table by the nice girl on front of house... we waited a good while for anyone to ask if we wanted drinks... poor in my view with only 6 people in.. anyhow.... we had looked online at the menu the previous day and all had pretty much decided what we were having before we even got to the restaurant.. I had been telling everyone about my chateaubriand i had eaten their previously 3 or 4 times and how amazing it was... for anyone that doesnt know.. its a big best end piece of fillet for 2 people... well this time the price had crept up from £40... to £45.. now up to £50.. but still not bad £25 seen as you did get sides with it such as dripping cooked chips, salad, sauce etc... well when the waitress brought our menus.. we realised that infact there was very little choice and the only thing they were serving that night was a set menu of either 2 or 3 courses... how could this be for a saturday night??? i would expect it on a less busy night of the week!!!! needless to say there was no chateabriand... and infact none of the starters we had all been looking forward to.... we reluctantly ordered and was and very disappointed with our food... steak didnt come with sauce as specified.. we asked and ended up getting charged for it... all of the dishes were lacking in quality, flavout and were very stingy portions... we were all very disappointed.. infact it was the worst overall experience of any restaurant i have been to in SHeffield... it was my birthday so didnt want to ruin the evening and complain.. but i did email the restaurant the next day to explain.... never even got the curtesy of a reply... WILL NOT BE RETURNING!!!! even if the chef claims he is going back to basics and trying to put the restaurnt to how it was when they opened!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good service, pity about the menu and food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We (husband and self) wanted a pre-theatre meal, ie two courses for £13.00, but what you see on the website is not what you get on the night! There was a choice of only two items for both starters and mains (we skipped the dessert): STARTERS: either tomato and mozzarella salad (which we both chose but which lacked flavour) or plate of cold meats eg chorizo and salami; MAINS: either a burger or fish and chips (we chose one of each and both were accompanied by greasy, soggy chips)! Incidentally, even on the unrestricted menu the only main courses in addition to the above were steaks or grilled salmon. We have been to the London Club on a number of occasions in the past and have always enjoyed our pre-theatre meals but it has now effectively turned into a steakhouse. If you are a veggie or would like a tasty, healthy dinner (other than steak) then try elsewhere. Pity . . . (Incidentally our waitress could not have been more charming and helpful.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Chose this restaurant as we walked past on way to crucible and didn't have much time. I can appreciate what other reviewers have put about lighting/ decor, which is nothing special. The service however was special, we were very promptly and pleasantly greeted by a lovely young lady who looked after us really well. We explained we didn't have much time and the chef was informed immediately so that our meal was on the table in no time. And how impressed were we with our meal, a daily special steak dinner for two? No evidence of a meal made in a hurry the steak was perfectly medium rare, with delicious chunky chips tomatoes and mushrooms! Beautifully presented, thoroughly enjoyed. And we were at the theatre with minutes to spare! Fabulous!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We visited as a couple. The service was excellant. We had the Chateau-Briand steak between the two of us recommended by the Chef. It was a feast and we both agreed the best steak we have ever had. Lovely meal, friendly staff and pleasant atmosphere what more could you ask for?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Seriously impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Went with my Wife, Son & Sons girlfriend on Saturday March 10th. We had pre booked for 8pm.
There was only one front of house staff. She was greeting, seating, doing the bar, taking orders, bringing the food and then clearing up. This she did very very well indeed without any stress or fuss.
The menu was surprisingly ordinary until we had the food presented. Great attention to detail. Prawn cocktail in a small mason jar, classic dog in a wooden wine box, fish and chips in a typical "chippy" paper box, just a bit out of the ordinary.
The only thing it did lack was a bit of atmosphere.
Food was really nice and for the price excellent value. I would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to anyone.


mpo

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Club also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to London Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.