We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowsha

Rowsha
288 South Road, Sheffield, South Yorkshire S6 3TE, Sheffield, England
0114 233 1166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,121 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining Serving traditional Lebanese food with a wide range of starters, main courses and wines for formal meals.Ideal for large and small parties for all occasions.Rowsha customers always enjoy their often new experience at our Lebanese restaurant. We take pride in our fine food and customer service.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

6 of us went for a birthday celebration meal. This is a smallish place so cosy atmosphere, service very good (good wine list, but fine with us taking a special bottle of bubbly along) and food really tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    45
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Saturday meal with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food tasted great. There was a wide selection of smaller meals (mezza), and plenty of options for vegetarians. We selected three of these each. The chef sent the waiter back to tell us this would be far too much food for us - and he was right: there was plenty to eat.
The food feels very authentic.
The place was empty when we came at 7, but was soon buzzing with life, with a wide mix of people.
The service was friendly and fast.
We did not know of this place, even though we have lived in Sheffield for years and love Lebanese food. The location (Walkley) means you're not likely to walk past it when you go out in town - but it is well worth taking the trip out there and taste this delicious food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Unhappy Birthday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having read numerous encouraging reviews on TripAdvisor, we arrived with high expectations for my birthday dinner. We were sadly let down.

Let me start with the positives: the restaurant is small, plainly but pleasantly decorated and quite comfortable, with a photograph of the Rowsha (rock) on one wall. The service was excellent, just the one waitress, burt she coped with eight or nine sets of guests calmly and cheerfully and with great speed and efficiency. The red wine, from the Bekaa valley, was smooth and tasty and I had a good Lebanese coffee.

But the food! We ordered a chicken liver starter, but this proved to be 'off ', so we decide to share a makdous, a stuffed aubergine dish. This was nicely presented but badly oversalted; after some hesitation we ate it, rather than send it back. The main course, lamb pieces for my wife and a mixed grill for me was plentiful, but quite lacking in taste, just plain cooked without the depth of flavour one expects of a middle-Eastern dish. And we were a little surprised not to be offered any Lebanese bread. Worst of all were the sweets. My baklava had an authentic flavour, but was hard and stodgy, rather than soft and flaky; my wife's pancake was hard and solid with a thick crust.

Ovberall, this was nothing like what I have come to expect after many positive experiences of Middle-Eastern food in Turkey, Egypt, Israel,Tunisia and elsewhere. Maybe the chef was out of sorts, or having a day off; but this is one restaurant I shan't be visiting again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adhamolfat, Manager at Rowsha, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear customer,
Thanks for your review, we take all of them in consideration in order to improve ourselves all the time. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed about the food. If customers are unhappy with their food, they shouldn't hesitate to tell the waitress and steps can be taken to redress the situation. We hope to see you soon and next time you won't be disappointed.
Sincerely,
Rowsha restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A meal to celebrate my mothers birthday, Lebanese style, and we had a lovely evening. The food was tasty, friendly good service and a warm atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average food slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate at rowsha last night after trying unsuccessfully to get a table a few weeks ago.
I have to say that due to the positive reviews I was expecting big things and unfortunately I was dissapointed.
The resteraunt itself is quite nice, small and intimate.
We booked a table for 8pm which our usual dining time, not too early, not too late. We arrived to find two families both with young children waiting for food, now I wouldn't expect to go to a resteraunt at this time to find young children. With it being such a small resteraunt and the children being fairly young it was noisy and very off putting for me.
When the waitress finally got around to giving us a menu we waited another 15 or so minutes for her to return. She took our order and drinks order at the same time.We went for the set dinner for two to try a variety of dishes. The starter came out fairly quickly and was tasty, maybe a bit too much food for two. The main was a mixed grill which was again, ok. Nothing amazing. I have had much better grills at other resteraunts in the city for less money. The lamb dish we also had had the most succulent lamb in it! Gorgeous. But let down by a very watery bland tomato sauce. Dessert was again ok, nothing special. I had been wanting to try this place for a while, and don't think I will be trying it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adhamolfat, Manager at Rowsha, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear customer,
We take our customers' point of view very seriously and we take them in consideration in order to improve ourselves all the time.
Apparently, you were not satisfy to find there were some children when you came to eat, unfortunately, we cannot do much about it because we welcome everyone in our restaurant.
For the food, if there were anything wrong with your dishes, you should have told us straight away and we would have changed them for you because our customers' satisfaction is our 1st priority.
we are sorry to hear that you waited for too long but we always give time to our customers to sit down and to read the menu, we don't like to rush them. But if you were in a rush you should have told the waitress when you arrived she would have come faster.
Your sincerely,
Rowsha restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowsha also viewed

 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Rowsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowsha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.