We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food incredible bed too soft” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sheffield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“food incredible bed too soft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The food here is incredible i had chicken and it was like heaven, unfortunately they messed up some other orders.The decor is beautiful Victorian style. The rooms were spotless but the bed was too soft like trying to sleep on marshmallow it wasnt happening pity really

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear 24Chris1990
Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to read that you liked our Victoria décor and had enjoyed the food in our restaurant. We will be certain to pass your kind comments to our Chef. We are sorry that you found the bed in your room softer than you preferred and we hope this do not detract too much from your enjoyment of your stay. We do hope you will choose to stay here again the next time you are in Sheffield. Kind rgards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    210
    99
    41
    14
See reviews for
82
189
31
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We checked into the Holiday Inn express at Sheffield for my Mums 60th Birthday. The very helpfull and kind staff arranged an upgrade to the Grade 2 listed hotel opposite (this Holiday Inn - Victoria St Rd) which was a great gesture. The hotel was fantastic, great staff, brilliant rooms and breakfast - i would love to thank personally the member of staff responsible for our stay it was great!

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same but quite warm - switch your radiator off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Michael 2
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope that you will get the opportunity to come back and stay here again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Previously stayed here in October 2013, on weekdays. This time stayed over Easter for 3 nights, one of which was a Saturday. Not such a good decision! We stayed in the same part of the hotel, and rooms were good with large twin beds. Bed and breakfast basis, a good value for the money and service in the Cunningham's was excellent. Hotel is very handy for walking into the centre of Sheffield. A grand, imposing building with character.
However, (and I know this is not necessarily the hotel's fault), but there were some very noisy groups of guests staying in the same part of the hotel arriving back from their revelling at 2.30 and 4.00 a.m. on Sunday morning. Maybe a little more thought could be put into where widely differing age groups of guests are put in the hotel. I appreciate that the age of guests is not always evident until check in, but maybe the question could be tactfully asked at the time of booking? Just an observation.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 262 and 263 in the newer part of the building on the first floor. Rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Aldo 17
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you liked the hotel and on the whole you had enjoyed your stay. We are sorry if you were disturbed by the inconsiderate behaviour of some of our other guests. Although we do try and take into account where we put various groups of guests, unfortunately it isn't possible to always get it right when the hotel is full. We do hope it did not detract too much from your enjoyment and we hope we can welcome you back again soon when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We decided to re visit this hotel after the poor service last time I was amazed at the that the staff were so friendly and the food in the restaurant in the evening was brilliant your chef deserves a big pat on the back this was one of the nicest meals we have in a very long time well worth every penny and the waitresses were also excellent thank you ! and the hotel its self is still dated but had a lovely weekend were so glad that we re visited and gave it the benefit of dought will certainly be going again

Room Tip: the excutive rooms are pretty large rooms and the bathrooms are huge for the little extra they cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear carl h
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and had noticed lots of improvement since your last visit. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to our Chef and the other staff. We hope you will get the opportunity to come back soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The quality and standard of accomodation was excellent and the historial features made our stay in this victorian hotel a pleasure. The staff are also friendly and helpful, we even had a guided tour of the old ball room which was spectacular. I will definately be booking another stay in this hotel soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Retfordrach
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We were really pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and liked our historic hotel. We are rather proud of our spectacular Ballroom and liked to show it off whenever we get the opportunity. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff and we all hope you will get the chance to stay here again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I always love coming back to this wonderful victorian hotel.
Great food in the "Cunninham's" and as always going with a very friendly and caring service.
Check out the special monthly themed set menues: April 2014 Marocco!!
And, as a birthday present, I got wonderful, sunshiny weather.
Great place to celebrate your special party, to stay for a shopping tour (Meadowhall Shopping Mall) or go hiking in the peak district national park.
Will come back soon!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Michaela E
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. We were delighted to hear to you enjoyed your most recent stay and had celebrated your birthday whilst you were here. All the staff send you their best wishes and we hope you get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was slightly cheaper than Premier Inn when I booked, so we thought we would give it a go even though it was not in the best location. Due to an event being on we were relocated to the annexe newer part for 'quiet'. Took earplugs in case and used them. It wasn't noisy but the usual families in different rooms going between them so many times so all you hear is doors closing. Quiet through the night with ear plugs in. Doors and thumping around from other guests started about 6am. The room was very large though it is a shame Holiday Inn could not have put more effort into the furnishings. Some of the pictures on Tripadvisor show slightly newer looking rooms. The bathroom had been renovated though and the room was clean. The curtains looked pre-smoking ban and had a couple of holes in. Can't imagine we would stay here in the summer as there was no air-conditioning, just a small fan in the wardrobe. The door on the wardrobe needed looking at as did not open/close easily. At the end of the day it was £60 and was fine for a night. As kids eat free we decided not to eat in the hotel as we could imagine what they would entail. 15 minute walk to Fargate though you have to walk through the old Castle Market area. Car parking simple. Plenty of spaces at 2.30pm. Just park. write down your registration plate on check-in and then pay the £5 on checkout. No bonus points/free drink voucher offered like at the last few IHG stays I've had but not sure if that offer has ended. Staff polite and efficient. Would not want to pay more than what I paid though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Jomishuk
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. As you quite rightly point out, all our bathroom have been refurbished to a high standard and we are now undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to the bedrooms and public areas. We do hope that you will choose to stay here again should you visit Sheffield in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.