We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sheffield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited the hotel for afternoon tea, thanks to a friend's gift of vouchers. Elegant dining room, fantastic service (thank you Barbora) and a very good tea and G&T too. The sandwiches were varied, fresh and generously filled, and tiny portions of 3 different cakes meant we could have one of each without feeling too stuffed. Scones, cream and jam as well, of course... And a good pot of tea, although tea bags rather than leaves let it down a bit. The Hendricks G&T was perfect. Highly recommended as a treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Persicaria
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed coming to the hotel for afternoon tea and that you found both the food and the service excellent. We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    226
    113
    45
    15
See reviews for
90
204
35
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel for a business trip. Did not expect too much as the price (Advance Rate) was very reasonable. Was pleasantly surprised - hotel was fabulous, food really good and great service. Lovely spotless room - will definetly return on my next trip to Sheffield and recommend to anyone !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Carlo M
Thank you very much for your review. We were happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay and had found the service and food excellent. We certainly hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Sheffield and thank for your recommendation. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A very homely hotel in a historic building. If you love history and don`t go for the modern lookalike rooms where you never now in what city you are today you`ll just love it.
Felt very welcome and enjoyed my stay very much!
City, shopping and nice bars and restaurants you`ll find within 5 to 10 min walking distance.
But make sure to check out the hotel cuisine: Paté and steak were just perfect.
Nice bar right here in the hotel to start the evening and maybe have another drink after dinner.

Room Tip: I just loved the executive room Nr. 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Michaela E
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and loved our historic old hotel. We were also delighted that you had enjoyed your dining experience and thought our Grand Lounge area was a perfect location for an after dinner drink. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to visit Sheffield again and return to the hotel when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I visited with a dear friend for afternoon tea. It was a lovely experience in the elegant Victorian bar area. Our waiter/barman Matt could not have been more attentive. He made us a stunning gin and tonic with Hendricks gin with sliver of cucumber, just perfect! The sandwiches included smoked salmon and tuna with cucumber, my only slight disappointment was that the smoked salmon should have been on brown bread! Delicious scones and cakes and a very generous portion for two.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Angelinapink
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had met your friend at the hotel for afternoon tea and you had both really enjoyed it. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to Matt and we hope you get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I last stayed at this hotel in 2008 and I am pleased to say that it has the same excellent standard of customer service as it had then. I used to stay at this hotel on a regular basis due to work, and as I will be staying in Sheffield every few months from now. I will be delighted to stay here. The welcome you receive is excellent and as this is my 1st nights stay in 3 nights I know I will receive the same standard of service I must point out the team who have looked after me tonight, James, Ally, Vishal and Maja were fantastic, also well done Maja I believe this was her first shift, she was lovely.
I can highly recommend the team at this hotel. Also the food and rooms lovely.

Sue Lloyd

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sue 1
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and hope it will be the first on many occasions. We were delighted to read how much you liked staying here and found the service friendly and helpful. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel has great character nothing like you would normally expect for a Holiday Inn. A five minute walk into the town centre therefore perfectly placed for shopping, dining and the wide range of bars on hand. Stayed in the main building with an upgrade to a suite. Bed wonderfully comfortable, creaking floorboards and great food. Staff very helpful. All in all a great hotel to stay at. Definitely going back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Phil.Darwen
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and found the location was great for your needs. We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We used a Travelzoo voucher and booked afternoon tea for 2 in the restaurant. The decor was lovely, lots of white linen tablecloths and napkins. We began with a very large G & T followed by a 3 tier cakestand of sandwiches with lovely fillings, after which we feasted on cream cakes, carrot cake, choc cake and scone with clotted cream and jam. All finished with a never-ending teapot and lots of cups of tea. Decor was 10/10 as was the service. Better afternoon tea event than Betty's restaurants and never felt rushed. Excellent!

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not overnight there - this is just a review of the restaurant!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Loljo
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed having afternoon tea and delighted that you thought it was even better than the afternoon tea served at the famous Betty's! We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.