We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sheffield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

First room we were given had mouldy carpets and was very cramped. We also found rubbish left from the precious tenant so the room hadn't been cleaned thoroughly.
Upon complaining we were offered another room which was better than the first but still not what we'd expect from a '4star' hotel.
Only stayed the one night so wasn't too much of an issue but wouldn't choose again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    226
    114
    45
    15
See reviews for
90
204
35
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here in September when I was in the area seeing friends having previously stayed at the newer Holiday Inn express next door/

Having read many reviews questioning parking charges and wifi I find it hard to believe people can complain about this when charging for these types of things has been common place in hotels for years?

Anyway, the hotel itself is set in a lovely old building next to where Sheffield Victoria station used to be. It has a newer extension to the side including a fitness centre.

The hotel staff were very friendly and polite, answering any questions I had about the parking (which I actually thought was quite reasonable!)

The room itself, although obviously a little dated was clean and well kept. The room had an LCD TV, lovely plump pillows and was nice and warm on what was yet another cold, miserable day!

The bathrooms have clearly been renovated recently and this shows in how modern they look - people say it is cramped in other reviews. I would ask those people to pay a visit to some hotels in Central London which are like shoe boxes compared to this!!!

Of course there are areas of the hotel that could do with a freshen up - I have never been a fan of the standard Holiday Inn chairs/tables in lobbys etc BUT that is not the hotels fault.

The breakfast was fresh, warm and topped up on a regular basis and although busy staff still cleared plates away when requested.

Overall, for what is an extremely old, classical building I think it is a lovely hotel. As people may see from my profile I have stayed at a few Holiday Inns now and this and the other one in Sheffield (Express) are both brilliant places to stay, especially when you compare prices to some of the other hotels in the area!

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was probably lovely once upon a time but is now rather tired.
Our room was quite old fashioned and the furniture had seen better days.The divan beds could do with some valances to hide the stains on the bases.
The room was very hot and stuffy as there is no air conditioning and the window can only be opened a crack for obvious safety reasons. Even on a fairly typical October night the room temperature was uncomfortably hot and I had a terrible nights sleep as a result.
The room and the bed linen had an unpleasant smell and I really couldn't wait to check out.
On the positive side , the bathroom was modern and clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear DMGIrl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I am pleased you found our bathroom modern and clean. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret you were not fully satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will address these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms were clean, had large showers and decent TV's. it's just a shame that our booking was taken incorrectly and our twin single was infact a double.

Having got the sofa bed out we settled in for the night. If you are over 6ft (as indeed I am) expect to lose your ankles. These sofa beds have been manufactured with all the steel ever made in Sheffield. No matter which way you turn you get jabbed or poked thanks to the soft, thin mattress.

We were lucky enough for our party to be provided a buffet. The jacket potatoes were stone cold. The chocolate fudge cake was on the other hand delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

One night stay midweek in this Victorian hotel. Yes it is a little dated but has a lot of character and charm. We love the bar/lounge area and enjoyed excellent service.
As previous reviewers have commented it is really worth the extra for an Executive room. Ours was spacious, comfortable and clean whilst the en suite was modern with a large bath and separate shower cubicle together with twin was basins. The only thing which was a little disconcerting was that the toilet flushed hot water!

We took advantage of room service and found the food and service to be of good quality. I did not take up the expensive internet access and the IHG needs to review it policy for charging such high prices for internet access across its hotel range in this day and age.

The buffet style breakfast had plenty of choices both hot and cold and all were of good quality.

I would stay here again just be aware of the idiosyncrasies of some of the plumbing.

Room Tip: Go for an Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Have just had a wonderful two night stay at the Royal Victoria Holiday Inn. Originally a one night Groupon deal that I extended. The housekeeping team are extremely efficient and were with me within 5 minutes of my call for a mino rproblem with my radiator. Reception and dining room staff friendly and helpful. My daughter and her partner also stayed and we both had executive rooms. Spacious and warm with lovely modern bathrooms. Very clean with lots of pillows and fluffy dressing gowns. Perfect if you prefer a character hotel with original features.
We will be revisitingsoon.

Room Tip: Executive twins have 2 double beds and all executive rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms. Not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Last week was my birthday and my husband and myself celebrated by having afternoon tea at the Royal Victoria Hotel.
It was all delicious, Finger sandwiches, Scones and clotted cream, cakes, choice of teas and a glass of champagne, all for £15.00 for two. It was a Groupon offer but excellent value for money. Would recommend it for a special accasion, or just a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.