We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful authentic Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East & West Restaurant

East & West Restaurant
227 Abbedale Road | South Yorkshire S7, Sheffield S7 1FJ, England
+44 114 258 8066
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East & West Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,080 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the finest authentic South Indian and Sri Lankan Cuisine. We aim to provide food that you would expect to eat in a traditional South Indian or Sri Lankan home. Our dishes are prepared with the freshest ingredients and prepared with the proper procedure in an effort to pamper your taste buds and provide a healthy and tasty alternative, without leaving you with a hole in your pocket. We welcome you to sample "The authentic taste of the Indian subcontinent" and be prepared to join the ever expanding fan club of this unique cuisine "Indo Lanka Fusion"
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I ate here on Friday and the food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinnerSheffield, Owner at East & West Restaurant, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
we are very thankful your feedback and continually we will keep it up with customer satisfaction is the key for our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our new favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We got there and it was full, but I was determined to eat there so we waited outside for 15 minutes until someone left their table, and we were not disappointed. East & West has a cafe feel which I really like, and we could not have been welcomed more warmly. The food is so authentic, none of this korma rubbish you get in other 'Indian' restaurants, and the food was absolutely delicious. It's served spectacularly and the portion sizes are perfect. It is also healthy and there is plenty of variations on the menu. I loved the fact I could see the chefs cooking away and I liked the way they popped out to check everyone was happy and catered for. We had a bit of chat with the staff and chef when it had all quieten down and that was the end to a lovely meal. You have to try here you will love it. They are also opening a new bigger restaurant in Broomhill in a couple of weeks so try that too. It's a firm new favourite for me and the other half.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinnerSheffield, Owner at East & West Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

We are happy that we make sure that our priority is customer satisfaction & quality. Your comment about East & West as favorite restaurant all East West team are very touched and would like to invite you as a special guest in our opening event Rama's bridge restaurant by East west in 190 Crookes, Sheffield S10 1TG on 30th Nov " Loyal Customer special event". Any time you are always welcome in our café in Abbeydale road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being a southindian, I was looking for proper southindian menu for my Son's first birthday party. I called Shiva from East West Restaurant, sheffield. As my number of guests were small (approx 40-50) I was bit unsure whether they will cater small parties. Shiva was very much welcoming and helped me to copmeup with a very good menu that included cooking live dosa and medhu vada that are popular dishs from south india. On the day they came ontime. I can say Chef Kumar is a specialist when it comes to south indian dishes. He made a very good job which was liked by all our guests. I would definately reccommend this restaurant for any occassions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinnerSheffield, General Manager at East & West Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Dr Prasanth, it was great that people from Karnataka enjoyed mini dosa in birthday party. Our Chef Kumar very pleased about your feedback and possible next events, we can make many of your friends happy and looking forward to assisting south Indian food culture in South Yorkshire. Due to customer demand that we are going to expand in Mid Nov in Crookes, where many family can enjoy authentic dishes from south of India and Sri Lanka.
East & West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome cusines..must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

hi,
i had an awesome time at your restaurant last week..food was great and service was very friendly. i hope to come back with my family next time.
and hopes to try more kottu and other spicy cusines.!

thank you and keep it up!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinnerSheffield, Public Relations Manager at East & West Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
we appreciate your feedback and we will keep up customer first as high priority
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great catering service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ordered a catering service from East and West for our son's birthday party in a community hall. The manager was very helpful with all aspects, and the food was excellent. We had a full vegetarian menu with south indian dishes, including medhu vadais and pooris, 3 vegetarian curries and rice, along with a semolina pudding. I was quite apprehensive about how kids would like it, but they just devoured the vadais and pooris! It was such a nice change from the usual sandwich/crisps/sausages party food! The adults loved all the dishes too, despite no meat or fish or chicken! The chef Kumar deserves a special thank you for the optimal level of spice, I'd already told him that there were a lot of kids expected. And their staff did all the washing up afterwards, and even brought us some takeaway cartons to pack food to go in the freezer. And all this for a very reasonable price too. Thanks team, and especially you, Shiva!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WinnerSheffield, Owner at East & West Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your very encouraging catering party review about East & West restaurant. We are happy that we could make children happy with our catering services and our chef Kumar appreciate very much for your feedback. We hope you or your friend will come back to us similar events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East & West Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to East & West Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East & West Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.