We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dore Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Dore Grill
36 Church Lane | Dore, Sheffield S17 3GS, England
0114-262-0035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Horsforth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Visited for dinner on a Saturday evening with a party of around 40. The place was humming and we were impressed by the friendly welcome and good atmosphere. The food was outstanding - we had the garlic black pudding followed by the lamb shank -some of the biggest and best we've had. All the food on our table was received very well, and the friendly service was really good. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“STEAK HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

W ent to the dore grill last night 10th nov 2012, went with another couple we all had a steak "WE ALL AGREED IT WAS THE FINEST STEAK WE HAD ALL HAD FOR YEARS" The service was second to none to go along with the food GREAT NIGHT had by all in a lovely setting, will definately be going again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first visit here for a few years and we were not dissapointed
Made very welcome by the staff and the menu at £16.95 for a starter ,main course, sweet, coffee and mints was outstanding value
Starters including chicken and mushroom pancakes,prawns,chicken goujons were superbly presented.
The lamb shank was a delight as was the choice of chicken and steak as ordered by our guests
,vegetables served
t the table by the staff,saute potatoes,carrots and cauliflower,even peas if you prefered.
If you had room for sweets they were all a delight.
No rushing you to finish,
A great eveningwith great staff and a handshake goodbye and thanks for coming.
We certainly shall be going again shortly,and check out the Christmas menus,again outstanding value
A pleasure to have been

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good,but not outstanding Sunday lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have attended 2 retirement 'do's'' plus a good friend's anniversary lunch in the past year or so. Not sure the retirements were a fair measure as it was mass catering ie: steaks that had been kept warm for too long for their own good but 'c'est la vie when attending mass events.
Sunday lunch was better although I would have liked my pork a little more cooked.
The owner and staff are,however, delightful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do you remember the Berni Inns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited this with a party of 17 for my Aunt and Uncle's 80th birthday celebrations. I went to school in Dire in the late 60's and always wanted to go to the Dore grill but my Mum always said it was too expensive and we couldn't afford it.Although the menu is very 70's the place has a lovely friendly atmosphere the staff work really hard and are very friendly. The food is well cooked . The yorkshire pudding starter was fabulous and the lemon posset was to die for. I will be paying for it when I get on the scales at slimming club on Friday. All in all a great place to eat . I would recommend it

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dore Grill also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dore Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dore Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.