We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several visits and always very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Red Lion

Old Red Lion
210 Main Street | Grenoside, Sheffield, England
0114 2468307
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Several visits and always very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been here several times in the past year and had several different options from the Menu.

Each time i have been impressed.

The presentation is great and the food tastes wonderful.

You can tell its all fresh and local produce but you aren't paying over the top for it.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Writing this review has made me think i need to go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    8
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sadly it looks as though time is running out for the Top Red”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We use this pub on a regular basis for a drink and each week there seems to be problems of some kind or another.
No Change, No Draught lager, No Cider. Low on choice of bottles. Manager doing a panic shop at Asda to put some bottles in the Fridge.

This week hottest day of the year, one of the bottle coolers was off and the other barely stocked with any bottles. No draught Lagers at all and again struggling for change. This is a Friday night what’s going to happen for the rest of the weekend? (if you haven’t got the stock you can’t sell it) In all honesty it looked as though the place was closing down.

We have persistently used the Old Red Lion since it re opened wanting to support a local business to see it prosper. But we are now asking why we bother. Please get it back to how it was when you reopened.

PS. Please take down the hanging baskets if you can’t be bothered to refill them. The sight of last years summer bedding plants dead, is not the least bit appealing (Grenoside was judged for the village in bloom this week. Tut-tut!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topred12, Manager at Old Red Lion, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for your comments.
As manager I can only influence so much of what happens within the establishment. Times within the industry are very difficult, and support from the community is essential, as we try to support the community likewise.
It's obvious that there are some difficulties at the present moment, some of which are out of our hands, but customers still receive a warm welcome and excellent service.
I appreciate what your trying to do with your post but you cannot possibly think we are not aware of the situation? Nothing in your post is news to us and we are striving and battling every single day to overcome these problems.
If you are genuinely concerned about the pub then perhaps you should come and have a private chat rather than publicly broadcast everything that you see wrong with the place.
The 2 things don't add up.
Thanks for your comments
Jez wootton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sadly dissapointed ~ get back to how you were before !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visted the Old Red Lion on Thurs 23rd May 2013 with my Grandma, we go out every Thursday to different pubs around Sheffield and visit the Old Red Lion maybe 8-10 times a year, this time was really dissapointed, i ordered Smoked Salmon with Beetroot Creme Fraiche on a Ciabatta, when it came the side salad was old and had soggy brown leafs in it and this was also on the sandwhich, this wasn't needed as i only expected salmon and the beetroot creme fraiche. The sandwhich wasn't as expected also, it was smoked salmon with soft cheese and pickled sliced beetroot, my granma's sandwhich was cheese (not bad) and the salad was the same as mine, when i asked the waitress if it was a different Chef from last year she said it was and i explained about the old salad, she said 'it was a new bag yesterday' offered to change but by then i was put off. When i went to pay i checked out the menu to see if i had read the description of my sandwhich wrong (i.e. sliced beetroot or beetroot creme fraiche) i hadn't. I did mention our dissapointment to the girl that served us and she said that she hoped it wouldn't put us off, but it has to be honest. This review isn't a dig at all it is constructive critism ~ PLEASE GET BACK TO THE STANDARD YOU WERE LAST YEAR (and we will be back).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topred12, Manager at Old Red Lion, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Rachel,
Firstly thanks for taking the time to post the review and for the feedback.
I can't explain why the salad was as it was, everything is brought in as fresh as possible and shouldn't have been served as it was, my apologies for that.
The sandwich ingredients are another mystery, looking back at the date we had a day where the kitchen was lucky to be open at all. We had a chef on holiday and two off sick and had to press-gang a chef who used to work for us some time ago.
This doesn't excuse your meal, and probably does us more harm than good, but we tend to battle on here and do the best we can.
We have had one chef move on but we still have our original Michelin trained chef with us and 2 colleagues.
It is obviously important to us to keep standards high and it is instilled in all our staff team.
I'm delighted to hear you'll be back and hopefully we'll see a much more positive review on herer.
Thanks again, look forward to seeing you soon.
Jez Wootton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Tried the old red lion for the first time today. Very good Sunday lunch, all fresh and well cooked. 2 roast beef dinners and 2 drinks for £20 is great value. Pub was pretty empty which was odd. Do not be put off by the bad reviews on here. We had a good quality Sunday lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality food nice surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been coming here for years and never had a bad meal. Sometimes waiting a while for the food but it is all cooked fresh not a processed pea or carrot in sight. Markets itself somewhere between a pub and a restaurant and I know it sounds awful to say but you never get groups of chavs or rowdy kids in there which makes it ideal for a family gathering or romantic meal with the wife.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Red Lion also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Hemingfield, Barnsley
 
Wombwell, Barnsley
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Old Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.