We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually good.. not this time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yo Sushi - Meadowhall Sheffield

Yo Sushi - Meadowhall Sheffield
Meadowhall Centre | 18 Park Lane, Sheffield S9 1EL, England
0114 230 0696
Improve this listing
Ranked #561 of 1,122 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Usually good.. not this time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Usually have a lovely time here. The staff were not very attentive yesterday though. Took my daughter at her request, for a pre- birthday treat (7 today) and had to ask twice for a cold drink for her, as the first lady that promised her one, never came back! Had to chase down the staff to order and to pay. The guy who served us at the till, spoke so quietly, we could not understand him. As i say, usually have a great time here and despite all else, i would recommend, if it wasn't also for the fact, that i have a very close affinity with the toilet today!!!!! Which is very un-like me!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benitachell, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“How to eat well in a shopping mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Since being diagnosed with type 2 diabetes recently I am always looking for somewhere to eat which can serve me food without masses of the dreaded carbs. By chance I found Yo Sushi and I can't wait to go again. Many people will be familiar with this way of eating but if you are not just check it out. No waiting to have an order taken, if you're hungry it's right there in front if you and it's delicious, light and tasty. The staff are there to describe ingredients and be generally helpful. Give it a try, I am sure you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit - Staff very good - Food above average - atmosphere?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We called after a busy afternoon's shopping around the Meadowhall Mall. The staff were very attentive, informative, and made you feel welcome. It's a simple enough menu when you get to grips with different coloured dishes being at different prices, and what you see on the conveyor are cold 'sushi' dishes and you order the hot dishes that are brought to you. The miso soup is good and is refillable at no further cost, tastes better (in our opinion) with some hoisin/soy sauce added. The marinated ginger is really superb and the dishes we chose were well presented and tasty. We swilled it down with some champers at £34.95 was ok, but disappointing that they didn't have the Cava available that was on the menu. Also, they don't do Tempura for some reason.
The only negative is atmosphere in a way - obviously it's in a very open shopping mall setting, therefore, doesn't quite have the intimacy of an enclosed restaurant - BUT YOU KNOW THAT BEFORE YOU SIT DOWN so haven't reduced rating for that. We would try it again as we enjoyed it and it's a little bit different to the norm!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blue Monday Sushi session”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

First time to yo sushi, had take outs normally but suprisingly no que on a bank holiday Monday so we took advantage. Great service explained everything about the menu and how to order. A little disappointed with the variety on offer on the belt but they made to order reasonably quickly. Pleased it was blue Monday (£2.50 most dishes off the belt) as our bill would have been a fair amount more! Will be returning (on a Monday)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Yo Sushi at Meadowhall is located in the upper level of the mall, in an open environment.

Because of this, and lack of kitchen extraction/ventilation, they do not serve the full range of hot food as other Yo Sushi restaurants. Particularly the Tempura dishes.

The open style eating setting lacks the same feel as an enclosed restaurant. You eat your food with shoppers walking past you, and we experienced a long queue of people waiting behind us to be seated. Slightly off putting when trying to enjoy your meal.

Whilst the food was tasty, I was disappointed in my experience compared to other Yo Sushi restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Sushi - Meadowhall Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Yo Sushi - Meadowhall Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yo Sushi - Meadowhall Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.