We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smallshaw Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smallshaw Farm Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Hollin Lane | Millhouse Green, Sheffield S36 9NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have attempted to write this review since returning from my daughters hen weekend in April, but for some reason I have been unable to, so try again!! These cottages are an absolute dream set in a beautiful location in the middle of the countryside near Penistone. Going as a hen party we booked all the cottages, and not one of them was anything other than fantastic. We used all the facilities, from the hot tub to the barbeque hut and have nothing but praise for it all. The owners, although living onsite are friendly and helpful but certainly not'in your face'. We hyad a lovely Alice in Wonderland themed weekend and wanted to take up squatters rights!! A great place to visit and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your super review of our cottages. We are glad you all enjoyed your 'Alice in Wonderland' hen weekend here. We still have the madhatter hats! We hope to welcome you here again. Best wishes, Mary and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've just left Bramble Cottage having spent 6 months (Monday to Friday) there. What a fabulous place to stay - perfect location, extremely comfortable accommodation, stunning views - we really felt like part of the family! It was the perfect place to come back to after a hard day's work, really relaxing - a real home from home. Jim and Mary were amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We're really going to miss it but will definitely be back. We had stayed at another cottage before coming here and Smallshaw was "simply the best", we definitely wouldn't stay anywhere else in South Yorkshire and would thoroughly recommend it. Molly, our cocker spaniel, is really going to miss her early morning walks round the fields. Thank you so much Jim and Mary for making our stay smooth and hassle free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's very strange here this week without your friendly faces and Snipe and Scapa are looking for Molly! We hope to welcome you here on holiday soon when you can fully enjoy your break without having to work. With best wishes, Mary and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arrived this afternoon to a warm welcome. We are a group of around 12 people sharing the cottages available. Without exception, they are well appointed, spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable with good quality bed linen and towels and displaying lots of attention to the details that make a difference. I confess to being quite picky and it was wonderful to encounter a place like this with not one thing to mark down. Beautiful countryside surrounds the cottages and the setting is idyllic with lovely, well maintained gardens. We have not tried the covered BBQ or hot tub yet but if they are as good as the rest, then wow. Looking forward to the rest of the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It was lovely to meet you all and we are so glad the sun shone for your 'Alice in Wonderland' weekend - Georgia and Guy love their madhatter hats, thank you. Hope to see you soon again. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekends stay in the farmhouse. I booked this for my partners 40th birthday and stayed with two other couples. The place is just amazing, there is everything you could want provided. We went in the hot tub in the snow and also experienced the BBQ hut which was really good and made a nice change.

Small shaw was recommended to me by my friend who had previously stayed on a hen weekend. I wanted somewhere homely with real fires and somewhere to go for a walk and it was just perfect.

Jim & Mary were really helpful and friendly.

I have recommended this place to lots of people and I definitely want to come back for a return visit.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages, you just missed the huge deluge of snow! We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and hope to see you all again soon. Best wishes, Mary and JIm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found Smallshaw through a work colleague, initially as it was 'dog friendly' which is essential for us.
We stay in Birch Cottage every time as it suits us, a good size property with comfy beds and furniture, large kitchen / diner, all underfloor heating which the dogs appreciate.
This time we had heavy snow and it was so cosy sitting watching this fall while we were inside warm and cosy... My husband celebrated his birthday while we were away and we booked Rowan Cottage next door for his family to stay in to help him celebrate, Rowan is a similar lay out to Birch but I would say has better views and is lighter inside due to more windows..
Dogs are made welcome, you can walk around the fields at the farm.
The Penine Trail is not to far away as is the Langsett Resevoir walk, a vehicle is required to get to some walks as there is no footpath at the end of the drive leading onto the road.
At the end of the Langsett walk is a great cafe which has a dog friendly area - perfect for a nice sandwich and cuppa after a few miles walking.
Mary and Jim are very helpful should you require them, they leave you to it once you have 'moved' in but are not far away should you need help............. I have put off reviewing this farm as I have problems booking up to start with but credit where its due - I suppose!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Just lovely to see you again and wishing Graeme a very happy belated Birthday. Look forward to welcoming you next time, when you have your dates, just pop us an e-mail. A big hello to Hector and Husta too. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have just returned from an incredibly snowy Smallshaw Farm Cottage and can not praise the place enough. I was there as part of a large Hen weekend, and stayed in Birch Cottage. The cottage itself was absolutely perfect, it had spacious rooms with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on, an incredibly well equipped kitchen and two bathrooms between 4 girls (one of which was a wet room).

As a Hen weekend, we had the entire place to ourselves so I got to look at all of the cottages. Each was absolutely beautiful and unique, modern without losing the feeling of the old barns they used to be. The new Farmhouse is amazing (especially the wood burners!) and I could not recommend any of the cottages enough. The under floor heating was particularly welcomed as it dropped well into the minus temperatures whilst we were there!

I got to experience the hot tub whilst it snowed, unfortunately due to time constraints we never managed to use the Finnish BBQ hut, but the look of it alone was amazing. The views from snowy Smallshaw were spectacular, and I bet they don't lose their magic in the summer time.

As for Mary and Jim, I've never encountered two more helpful and accommodating individuals. As we were heavily snowed in, Jim was always on hand offering us lifts to the main town in his 4x4 (something we could not have done without). A foot of snow fell on our final night, but when we woke up at 8am Jim had already cleared a pathway from our front door.

I am already planning my return visit, hopefully to the adorable Bramble Cottage. Anyone looking for an idyllic getaway could do no better than this location!

Room Tip: Bramble Cottage would be perfect for that little romantic getaway, Birch Cottage is perfectly locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We couldn't believe how much snow there was! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to be on hand with our 'Snowmobil' Landy! Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We have recently returned from our second visit to Smallshaw. Our first was two years ago in November 2010 (I've just realised we forgot to review!) staying in Rowan, and this month we came again this time staying in the Farmhouse. We visit the area mostly once a year to visit family.

Both properties - as I'm sure all of Mary and Jims are - are spacious, warm (so lovely in winter months), clean and comfortable. Plenty of space for everyone, modern comforts and wifi, and every utensil you could need. Firewood for the lovely burner was plentiful, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of both stays.

Mary and Jim were lovely as always, and we can't wait to see them again soon. We have stayed in other cottages locally before we found Smallshaw, but wouldn't consider staying anywhere else now.

On a personal note though, we hope you don't get so busy that we can get in for our week! :) Thanks again x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smallshaw, Owner at Smallshaw Farm Cottages, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We loved seeing you again and this time welcoming you to the Farmhouse. A much needed break for you and a pleasure for us to see you for a second time. We look forward to the next and certainly hope we will have your dates available. Best wishes, Mary and Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smallshaw Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallshaw Farm Cottages

Address: Hollin Lane | Millhouse Green, Sheffield S36 9NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallshaw Farm Cottages 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smallshaw Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smallshaw Farm Cottages to your Saves list