We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cubley Hall

Cubley Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cubley Hall
Save
You added Cubley Hall to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cubley Hall | Mortimer Road, Sheffield, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Jersey Channel Islands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our sister-in-law's wedding. The location is beautiful with lovely views of the countryside. We found the staff very welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a little worn out however, they were very clean and comfortable with everything you need for a short stay. The food was good, simple pub grub and very tasty. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Our room was number ten and had views out onto the country side and cows in the field!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night after my daughters wedding. The wedding was at the Hall so forgive me if the review is slightly biased as it was a fantastic day.

Very friendly staff and helpful the wedding organiser Sandra was amazing. If you are planning an event I would highly recommend this as a venue. As a hotel or stay over it a lovely location but the rooms are a little dated but more than adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed at the above hotel while on a course with work nearby, good first impressions as you walk in, full of old world charm. Booked in quickly by the ever helpful staff. The staff are the best part about this hotel. Room a fair wander away, first impressions ok however, all the floorboards creaked as you walked around the room so either you or next door knew when each person was up and about. Stayed here without the other half, just as well, i am not a small chap, there would not be enough room for us both in the bed as it was the smallest "double" ever and sounded like it would not take another ounce, or any "activity". Food above average but a limited menu. A sign by the bar says children not allowed in bar area, however every evening children were in and out all the time with nothing said. Overall fair but not for me.

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the shorter the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

We were hiking along the Trans Pennine Trail in England when we needed accomodation in Penistone. There was nothing available in town so we ended up at Cubley Hall. First impression was quite good: Old world charme in a beautiful setting. We never before paid £82 for a room, but thought we would be in for a treat... How wrong! The room was tiny, probably just 6 square metres. It was so small, that there was no space between the bed and the wall for a bedside table, no bedlight either and you had to be slim to squeeze into bed. No space on the floors for the back packs. The (once nice)furniture was worn and stained. The carpet spotty. Unbelievable. What a disappoinment. We have never stayed in such a poor room before. The bathroom was dated and mouldy around the edges,the radiator rusty. By the way we stayed in room No 7. Breakfast was average

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Spent one night at Cubley Hall recently, unfortunately when we booked, we had not been altered to the fact that they had the decorators in, so this came as a bit of a shock. The bar/pub was completely closed and getting to our accommodation was by navigating through a series of ladders, planks and dust sheets. Decorators being decorators, they were there at 7am, rattling and clanking and setting up their ladders again, however, we needed to be gone very early, so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. All in all, I don’t think that we got to see the hotel at its best, stacked up furniture covered in cloths isn’t very attractive, but I think that it will be lovely when it’s had its (much-needed) face-lift. Manager (John) very helpful and apologetic when we complained about the decorators etc. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here on a walking trip. Didn't get off to the best of starts with a rather terse greeting from the lady at the bar. We never saw her again though and all the other staff were fine. Good large room with comfortable four poster bed and big tv. Very popular pub with locals. Bar was full. Food was competent and solid rather than cordon bleu but enjoyable nonetheless and good value. Choice of well kept real ales. Good breakfast -again largeish portions. Nice view from breakfast room. Nice gardens as well. Only minor niggle was that music from the bar could be heard from the room but did not go on for long.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We went for a wedding and so the hotel was full of family and friends. They looked after us during our stay and at the reception very efficiently. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
But if you want a quiet weekend away this is not the place. This is a very popular place locally for people going out drinking and eating, for parties and other events and so was permanently packed out.
Breakfast was good but I am not sure I would choose for a high quality dinner. It is much more good solid Yorkshire fare produced on quite a large scale.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cubley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubley Hall

Address: Cubley Hall | Mortimer Road, Sheffield, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cubley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cubley Hall Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cubley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.