We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding for 10 years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Terrazza
352 Sharrow vale Road, Sheffield S11 8ZP, England
01142685150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 1,116 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding for 10 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have been going to La Terrazza for over 10 years and it never disappoints. Firstly Pasquale and now his son Mario run a truly outstanding restaurant. Great changing menu, specials focused on local fresh dishes (usually amazing fish) and a great atmosphere.

Yes, it can be a little cramped but doesn't that tell you something? If the worst you can say is it was too busy....I think thats praise enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had a lovely night with 4 friends, food and service excellent, but busy and noisy, our table was a bit squashed in, this place is almost too popular!
Evening marred by 'mistake' on bill which I happened to check, like many people I don't usually but it seemed a bit o,t,t, extra wine at 14 pounds a bottle was charged for, oh dear.
Been before and will go again but will check the bill in all restaurants in future....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We went here Friday evening and it was busy with a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant is lovely and clean with nice romantic lighting. The service was spot on, attentive but not pushy. I had crespelle which was very nice and my partner had steak diane which was lovely. The desserts were also very good. Im already looking forward to going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overstretched”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked late and were lucky to get the last table - as long as we were finished by 9pm - a good start.
Arrived just after 7pm and were seated immediately - the place was packed and my wife's chair was positioned across the main route to the kitchen which did cause some inconvenience to other diners.
Throughout the evening the service was friendly but not particularly attentive - I think they need another pair of hands to cover.
The starter of salmon and prawn was very good.
They happily accommodated a change of potato to one of the sea bass mains, the course was fine but not exceptional.
At 8:40pm we were asked if we wanted dessert and coffee - which we said yes to, however due the restaurant being busy and the constant rearranging of tables it took us until 8:55pm before we could order - it was therefore disappointing to have the bill plonked on the table as a bit of a hurry up whilst we were still eating. If the order had been taken promptly we would have been finished on time. The trio of desserts we both had was a little disappointing - although we agreed the Tiramisu was excellent.
Overall we think the experience was average but on another evening it could be very good. We would certainly return to see if it's better on a quieter evening, as the other reviews seem to indicate we may have just been unlucky.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I visited this restaurant around Christmas time. The experience was okay, but nothing much more than that.

It was a busy evening, and the service was a bit slow to start - we waited about 10 minutes or so for our drinks to arrive. The tables had been arranged incredibly close together and it felt a bit uncomfortable at times being very nearly within touching distance with the adjacent tables. Food-wise, I had a pizza and my girlfriend the risotto. The pizza was very nice and reasonably priced for what it was. The risotto (which I tasted) was quite unpleasant and over cooked.

Overall the experience was okay, but nothing particularly stood out food and service-wise. On the plus side, the place is very busy and so has a good atmosphere. I would give it a try but personally won't be rushing back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.