We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza

La Terrazza
352 Sharrow vale Road, Sheffield S11 8ZP, England
01142685150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rotherham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really good italian food served by a great waitress. The family who own it are Italian and it shows. Everything cooked perfectly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“May as well have gone to a Prezzo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. After dining there i wondered: Do people not know how to cook italian food? How low are peoples standards?

This restaurant had great reviews coming out of it's ears. Brief review:

My girlfriend was really looking forward to the seabass after seeing it on the specials board. They didn't have any. Note to all restaurants, if you don't have it, don't advertise it on the chalkboard. They still didn't remove it after apologising that they had run out.

I had a pear and goats cheese starter, which was fine. Not a lot of effort or skill went into to it, but it was simple and pleasant enough. My girlfriend had the meatsballs: which were pretty good.

Moving onto the mains. I had the baken chicken and spinach pancakes topped with tomato sauce. What i got was basically a flat canelloni smothered in a pretty average tomato and cream sauce. I'm not a chef but i can make a far tastier sauce. There wasn't a great deal of chicken in it, there certainly was a lack of spinach.

My girlfriends meal was pretty poor. Smoked tuna linguini.

There was SOME smoked tuna but it was spread pretty sparingly. The linguini was absolutlely soaked in olive oil and very greasy.

Service was decent, particularly the waiter who seemed to be overseeing things. Nice guy, very friendly.

Wine was good.

Disappointing mains considering the reviews i'd read.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We dined here on a Saturday night recently, and whilst the restaurant wasn't full to bursting, there were enough diners to give a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were excellent throughout, getting the balance right - attentive but not pestering every 2 minutes.
Food wise, although the menu was fairly standard of a local Italian and perhaps lacking in a little flair, the food itself was very good quality.

My starter was insalata tricolore tomatoes tasted a little too fridge-cold and would have benefited from being served a room temperature, but otherwise delicious. Main course was fillet steak with king prawns, both of which were high quality. I had the steak cooked rare - it was cooked to perfection and this showcased the great quality of the meat. The flavours in the sauce were also great.

Great cheeseboard for dessert also and good wine (we tried the montepulciano and the house red).

I would definitely visit again and would recommend this to others, both for a casual after work meal or a weekend feast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Everything at La Terrazza on Saturday was perfect, even with the dreadful weather(snow) ,the restaurant stood apart from all the others we had driven past on our way! It was lively, full and filled with a warm atmosphere regardless of the freezing evening. We were immediately impressed with the number of people that had took the effort to come out(proves it must be good) The food was delicious, excellent wine, and prompt, delightful and friendly service!! Can't wait to be in sheffield again as this is the only restaurant for us!!!
You have to try this italian.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The real Italian taste in Sheffield!
Well done Mario and Holly! ;-D
I went to La Terrazza and food as the service were always exceptional!I'm Italian and I know well the truly taste of the Italian food. I can say that if you're looking for a friendly place where you can find the real taste and atmosphere that you can find in Italy,well, that one is the right one!
Fabiana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terrazza also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to La Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terrazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.