We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot Pierre

Le Bistrot Pierre
835b-837, Ecclesall Rd, Sheffield S11 8TH, England
0114 267 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eating out that's anything but ordinary. We bring a touch of French sparkle to everyday dining in Sheffield - join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, as well as special event evenings each month.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As it was my wife's 60th birthday our daughter and her husband took us to this restaurant to celebrate.We had no idea this place existed,although our daughter and husband had been before, but what a nice surprise.The staff where very friendly and helpful,and the food was marvellous.It might have been the first time we visited,but it won't be the last.John B Sheffield.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It means such a lot to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your wife's 60th, many happy returns! It is especially great to hear that you were happy with the service you received as this is really important to us, as well as your enjoyment of the food.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    103
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Girly birthday party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The place & atmosphere was lovely. Had a nice meal, food was lovely! The selected desserts and cheese board was unbelievable! Would recommend a special occasion there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
What a fantastic review for us. This is so great to hear! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and your desserts so much.

I hope we see you again soon for your next special occasion.

Thanks and kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fab lunch menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently had lunch here as a treat and I have to say it was fab. We took up the offer of a three course lunch for 12:95 and it was very good value! I had a duck and pork pate to start and it was very tasty, very enjoyable. I then paid the £2 supplement to have the burger for main. The beef was Delicious, couldn't fault it. I then had the bread and butter pudding. All in all, for two of us to enjoy a three course lunch and bottle of wine, costing £40 I cant complain at all!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a great review. It is fantastic to hear that you found us to be such good value. This means such a lot to us!

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots of little errors, and one big faux pas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Came here for a family birthday meal, my first time but was the guest of people who recommended this restaurant from their previous visit. Although the overall experience was positive, we encountered so many errors made by the staff that did affect the evening.

Firstly our table was booked for 6 people, on arrival I was told it was booked for 8 people, so we had to wait while our "welcomer" called upstairs to get the layout changed so I ordered some drinks at the bar before heading upstairs.

The floor under the table had a number of chips laying on the floor, which we had to clear on sitting down Some of the menu's handed out were missing the specials attachment, and then we had to ask a couple of times for our wine to be ordered (we had to get the wine menu back as we accidently handed it back with the menu's on ordering). Then with one of the shared platter starters, the bread came a bit late late and the mussels dish seemed very buttery.

When the mains came, we ended up two side dishes short so had to re-order those while eating, and one of the steaks came too rare so had to go back (although with steak this is a personal preference for people so this can happen). Then at the end of the meal the coffee's we asked for came wrong and had to go back for the milk.

Luckliy with all of the above, once the problems were raised with staff they dealt with them quickly, which showed that the service was good... if just error prone however the worst issue was to come.

Much discussion was made at our table as to the tip, due to the issues we had some felt no tip was deserved on this occasion, but we decided to leave a smaller than normal one due to their staffs ability to correct issues raised. So we settle the bill with a combination of card and cash, with the potential change planned to be left as the tip. But the staff member never came back to our table with the change, which is a bit presumptuous in our opinion and lets down the restaurants service at the end.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Ouch, this is indeed a big faux pas, we never take our customers gratuities for granted, and we sincerely apologise if we came across as greedy, it certainly is not the policy of the restaurant, we will also make sure our staff training is sharper to avoid further silly mistakes. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. regards Marylise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average food but great staff !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Busy saturday night. Reception and service throughout the meal was excellent.Can't say the same for the food ! Boring starters - my Toulon sausages were over cooked and really greasy. My main course of steak was dry, pretty tasteless,poor side salad - a few rocket leaves and a truely yucky mushroom sauce . My wife's mussels were dangerously hot and although a huge bow-full the sauce was mediocre.The only saving grace was thefantastically friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
It's disappointing to hear you did not enjoy our food, we are very sorry it somewhat spoilt your evening but we would love you to give us another chance and for us to show you this was a one off. Kind Regards Marylise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.