We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot Pierre

Le Bistrot Pierre
835b-837, Ecclesall Rd, Sheffield S11 8TH, England
0114 267 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eating out that's anything but ordinary. We bring a touch of French sparkle to everyday dining in Sheffield - join us for breakfast, lunch or dinner, as well as special event evenings each month.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been here twice for a work lunch. Both times I was very impressed with the food and it was very nicely cooked without too long a wait. It was quite quiet at lunch time so not much atmosphere, but I would think in the evening it would be much busier. I'd definitely go back as we all had a lovely time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely and honest review. I am so pleased that you would return to us again as you enjoyed the food during the visit, and the pace you were served. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    103
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Quality food with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here on the way to a confer, tea time special and was very pleased with both the food and service. I had scallops and the wife pate both tasty although they did forget the onion relish. Main I had haddock and the wife beef both again very tasty. Apparently the veg was nice, I don't eat it but the dauphine nous potatoes were excellent. All the staff were very friendly and service was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much fro taking the time to provide us with some feedback. It really means a lot to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your food and found the service to be good also. This is really what we aim to achieve.

I hope that we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great value & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visited here a few weeks ago for a belated birthday meal. Place was busy (Sunday lunchtime), and the greeting was warm and friendly and we were seated immediately. The menu is a good combination of dishes (although they had already run out of some dishes despite us eating at 1 oclock), together with an interesting selection of (French) wine. Service was quick, food well presented, tasty and with good flavours. Overall a very pleasant meal, nice surroundings and friendly staff - recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us. It really means a great deal to us. I would like to apologise for some of the items on the menu being unavailable, this is an issue that we are really striving to prevent. I am pleased however, that you enjoyed the food and the service, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing second visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a Sunday in August and had an excellent meal, so we booked for 7 for my son's 19th birthday. Unfortunately our second visit was not so good. Our table was booked for 2pm, we were told they had run out of Sunday lunch as soon as we arrived. We ordered drinks which arrived at different times, and we had to request one drink several times. We ordered appetisers and were told we needed to wait for our bread, as it was being baked, but at least would be hot. When it arrived, it was frozen in the middle, we sent it back and it was returned, torn into pieces and chewy-clearly microwaved. I asked for a vegetarian main and was initially told they had run out, I was offered mullet instead, however I was actually served mackerel. When t came to dessert, both the creme brûlée and bread and butter pudding had sold out. Also I forgot to say, I ordered a starter of Roquefort salad, on which 2 of the 4 ingredients were missing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Corrine,

Thank you for your honest feedback, I am truly sorry about your experience, this seems to be completely out of ordinary for us, we clearly had underestimated how busy we were going to be or the popularity of some of the dishes.
your comments have been taken on board,I believe some of the issues were down to a basic misunderstanding amongst our team, but we are confident this will not reoccur.
Kind regards
Marylise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much much better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bistrot Pierre is our favourite place for diner in Sheffield. I was brave enough to try the fish soup and, OMG, no regret. That was beautiful. The steak was to die for and the service, supplied by this young French lady was just perfect!
We have to come back again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien A, Manager at Le Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service when you dined with us. I have passed on your comments to the chefs, and to the waitress who served you. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Le Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.